Apple TV 3.0 & 4:3 still working?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by romeoch, Oct 29, 2009.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Stanford, CA
    #1
    Could somebody post any information/feedback if the trick below still works after upgrading to Apple TV 3.0. This is if you have your Apple TV on a 4:3 TV and in order to get a colored picture, you do:

    * Plug your composite-yellow in the green “slot” (this will give you an image, but BW)
    * head over to resolution and set it to 480i (not sure if this step is needed tho)
    * now STAND on 480p and unplug the composite-yellow, plug an HDMI-DVI adapter
    * press “ok” on the remote and count to 5
    * unplug the HDMI-DVI adapter and replug the composite-yellow, when the image comes back, it comes back full color!

    Thanks,!
    Rd
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    #2
    ...and/or the Patchstick TVComposite.kext fix ;-)

    I've updated one Apple TV, don't have the guts to try the other...
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    #3
    i would try this right now but my HDMI to DVI adapter is in my camper which isn't at my house right now but i'll have it back tomorrow. if no one replies to this by tomorrow i will try and post my results
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    #4
    :apple:TV composite color hack fails after upgrade to 3.0

    * now STAND on 480p and unplug the composite-yellow, plug an HDMI-DVI adapter
    * press “ok” on the remote and count to 5
    * unplug the HDMI-DVI adapter and replug the composite-yellow, when the image comes back, it comes back full color!



    The preceding method fails, and I've tried 4 times it hangs and requires a reboot each time. I have a great composite monitor I'm not ready to trash, not very green of apple to disable this hack, of course it is not very green not offer it from the beginning.

    If I find a fix I will post it here.
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    #5
    Same Problem here with appleTV 3.0, i waiting for a workaround/hack
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #6
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    #7
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    #8
    Wish there was a similar trick that worked with the component outputs.

    I still haven't been able to get displayutil working with the atvusb-creator patchstick method, so I'm forced to script a Quicktime aspect ratio stretch for all my TV content...automated, but still a pain.
     
  9. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    #9
    Not working here...

    Has any solution been found for this? I hastily upgraded to 3.0 and now am stuck w B&W. Is it possible to revert back to the earlier, 2.x software?
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Stanford, CA
    #10
    not able to get color back

    Under 2.4 The Cheap Geek's trick worked (see link below). But now with 3.0 after selecting 480i the screen doesn't come back at all (black screen). I can hear the sound when using the remote but no screen (either black/white or color). So I have to unplug ATV.

    Have others had success with 3.0 and a 4:3 TV?

    http://www.thecheapgeek.org/2009/03/24/161/
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #11
  12. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    #12
    Nope...

    Tried the cheapgeek/hdmi trick multiple times (10+) to no avail. Never got my atv to display an amber light (never had to do this under 2.0 to get the trick to work).
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #13
    I got it to work once outa about a half dozen tries. It seemed like a quick 2 second was the ticket. But then I found out my 3.0 hack w/XBMC was knocked out and couldn't get that running again. Gonna try re-patchsticking/hacking things tomorrow. I'm suspecting I need to set my XBMC settings to the 853x480 setting if I can and this will match up with the composite ATV setting.

    And now that Nito is out for 3.0 I might try his composite kext hack first.
     
  14. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    #14
    It Works! He's Right! Waiting for the Amber Light and a Quick Count to Five is the Secret, I believe. Thank you CheapGeek!
     
  15. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    #15
    One Question: I did not Press + & Menu afterwards, so my ATV is still not on Widescreen. Is there a way to Change that without going through the entire Process all over again ?
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #16
    Apple Tv 3.0 colour works..

    I think the trick is to unplug the HDMI cable less than 2 seconds after having pressed the Ok button. It worked for me (after several trials). I didn't see the amber light. It works perfectly, I got the colour on my old TV with 3.0! Thank you The Cheapgeek!
     
  17. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Stanford, CA
    #17
    got it to work

    Thanks to TheCheapGeek I now also have colors on my 4:3 TV after the 3.0 upgrade. Yes, the key is to quickly switch the cables (approx. 2 seconds after confirming the 480p).

    Thank you all for the help!
     
  18. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    #18
    Every time the Power goes out in my home, I have to do this little trick. I need to get a Television from this Decade! :)
     
  19. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    #19
    The trick is the speed..!

    The trick still works, but you need to be much faster than before the 3.0 upgrade. Less than 2 sec from the click to the HDMI removal and composite plug-in. Otherwise you'll get a dark blinking screen.
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    #20
    Hi, this is puzzling me. It was working with 3.0, but after updating to 3.0.1 I can't get it back to work anymore. Anyone has tried it with 3.0.1?
    Thanks
     
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    #21
    Hi Maurizioplll

    I've just upgraded to 3.01 and after a few attempts I found that the "quick" less than 2 seconds route worked fine and I now have colour back on the green composite output. So hopefully, should work for you.

    Best,

    Rob
     
  22. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    #22
    Great news, thanks. One last thing: do you see the amber light when switching resolutions?
     
  23. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    #23
    Scrabbled Signal

    I am wanting to use my ATV1 on an SDTV with composite and I have seen the trick, but I'm not even getting a black and white signal. The screen is black and white for the logo and then scrambles when it gets to the menu. Ideas? I also am not seeing a place for 480i. Only 480p.
     

Share This Page