Apple TV and subtitles

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by kjenyg, Nov 10, 2010.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    #1
    Hi!

    I was wondering what settings i should choose in handbrake, to get subtitles on my movies streamed to AppleTV(2010). I Have a .mkv file and a .srt file.
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    #2
    I'm sure there are 100 ways to do this. But I do it like this

    1. Make sure that the SRT-file is in UTF-8 format
    2. Add MKV to Handbrake
    3. Import SRT to handbrake
    4. Choose the checkbox "Default" leave the others empty unless you want to burn the subs into the picture. Then also check Burned in.
    5. Make sure that SRT language correspond to the default setting in ATV2. In my case Swedish (not necessary if you burn the subs)
    6. Set char code to UTF-8
    7. Click Add in subtitles tab
    8. start transcoding
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    #3


    How do i make sure the .srt file is in UTF-8 format?

    Im using mac osx by the way.

    And how/why does the srt language need to correspond to the default setting in atv2? Im norwegian, but the .srt files i download is usually english.
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    #4
    I use Notepad++ on windows. Google say that textrangler is a OSX alternative but I have no experience.

    The SRT-language is not language of the actual text but the name of the textstream. You choose this in Handbrake under the Subtitle tab. It is so that ATV knows if to display the text or now. Temember that you set the subtitle language to be displayed in ATV. English should be the default in Handbrake so you probably don't need to change that.
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    #5
    yes textwrangelr should be able to convert ASCII or whatever to UTF-8.
    http://www.barebones.com/products/textwrangler/textwranglertext.html

    It strikes me now that I used to have problem with the latest Official handbrake release when the text was codec with an ISO-codec or ASCII and the manual transcoding in Notepad++ was a workaround. I haven't tried the nightly build I currently have installed. Perhaps handbrake can cope with transcoding of the textfile as well now... Have to try that when I get home.
     

Share This Page