Apple TV and Vista

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Frisco, Jan 26, 2008.

  1. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Location:
    Utopia
    #1
    Thinking about getting an Apple TV for a friend's birthday. A couple of Qs:

    1) How does it work with Vista?

    2) Should I also get him an Airport Extreme? He currently has a "G" router. How does Airport Extreme work with Vista?

    3) Where does Apple TV get its pictures from? MY Pictures folder or does he need to get that Adobe software? God I hope Apple TV would just use the MY Pictures folder?

    Thanks!
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #2
    While most of my machines are Mac's, my utility machine is an old dell running XP. I know your asking about Vista, but two cents is that the windows version of iTunes is essential the same as the Mac version (if not a bit more of a resource hog). The real question is weather or not your friend likes iTunes for organizing his media. Alot of windows user don't, so that could be a deal breaker.

    As for the Airport extreme. It will work fine with Vista, but he will need to install an app on his machine to manage it. I recommend just getting a linksys or belkin with a web interface for a windows user.
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #3
    One more thing... the latest version of iTunes supports Vista 64 bit. in previous versions of iTunes 64 bit installs were an issue.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    #4
    I find the Apple app is way better than any web interface I've used for a router. The linksys web thing is pretty good, though. D-Link is awful.
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Sydney
    #5
    I have this exact setup, so I can say it works fine with Vista. I also have the Airport Extreme which is substantially faster than my previous G router.

    As for photos, you tell the Apple TV which folder to sync from. My Pictures folder works fine.

    Hope this helps
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Location:
    Utopia
    #6
    Thanks a lot! Very helpful.
     
  7. JPT
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    #7
    I'm assuming that the syncing is very similar to an iPod. Back when I used Windows it allowed me to select the folder of images I wanted to sync over to the iPod. And other than that it works essentially the same as the Mac version :)
     

Share This Page