Apple TV loading a movie

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by RDAR, Nov 17, 2012.

  1. RDAR
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    #1
    When I pick a movie from my iTunes library and stream it to Apple TV and press down on the apple remote it shows a grey bar and how much of the movie has loaded. When the bar is full does it still use up bandwidth from my Internet?
     
  2. Mrbobb
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    #2
    Nope. When the gray bar is done, IT MEANS DONE. FINITO. U can tell by looking at your the broadband modem's lights, it stops flashing, *if* you are the only user. Lights, they are there not just to look pretty.
     
  3. RDAR
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    #3
    Thanks I was worried because I'm streaming dark knight rises and it's almost 3 hours. The grey bar finished in like 10 min so I'm good with my bandwidth not taking anything for the entire 3 hours right :D ?
     
  4. bushido, Nov 17, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2012

    bushido
    Expand Collapse
    Suspended

    bushido

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    Germany
    #4
    ja once its fully loaded it doesnt take any bandwidth, u can even skip and go back or close it. its saved in the cache of the apple tv for a while.

    just out of curiousity, what inet provider still has traffic limits?
     
  5. RDAR
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    #5
    Bell simpatico in Canada ;p I only got 175GB
     
  6. bushido
    Expand Collapse
    Suspended

    bushido

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    Germany
    #6
    omg u poor soul :eek:
     
  7. Ace1024
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    #7
    Just realise you're going full throttle until the entire movie is stored in cache. In terms of total quota used, there is no difference.
     
  8. tdhurst
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #8
    Yep...

    What he said. Three hours, 50 hours, whatever — a two gig movie is still only a two gig movie.

    You're good.

    Wait...did you say you picked a movie from your iTunes library or did you mean you're streaming it from the iTunes Store?
     
  9. Defender2010
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Defender2010

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Location:
    England
    #9
    How The Dark Knight Rises when it is not in iTunes yet??
     
  10. chenks
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    chenks

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    if the movie is in your itunes library it not using your internet bandwidth at all.
     
  11. tdhurst
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #11
    Yeah...

    Yeah...what this guy said.

    Also, stop asking for advice about movies that haven't been legally obtained. We frown heavily on that around these parts.
     
  12. bushido
    Expand Collapse
    Suspended

    bushido

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    Germany
    #12
    he was obviously mistaking it with the dark knight ;)
     
  13. iHailCarlo
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #13
    uh-oh someone has their hand in the cookie jar!!
     

Share This Page