Apple tv new update!!

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by big samm, Aug 1, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #1
    On the latest update you now can watch tv shows you previously bought on iTunes from icloud... Also vimeo videos in hd are now available... Quite a nice update if you ask me!! Enjoy folks!!
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    #2
    It doesn't show all my tv shows I purchased. Figures it won't show show the good ones.
     
  3. macrumors 68030

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #3
    I do not understand this, aren't the TV shows always available in iTunes. I do like the Vimeo app.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Drunken Master

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    #4
    So how do YouTube playlists work so far? Does a playlist of HD videos run well?

    I don't have an Apple TV yet but if YT playlists work nicely then I'll pick one up; the laptop has to spend too much time loading HD videos through YT to make it viable to hook up with the TV and let it run.
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_4 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8K2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Looks like this I the start of moving everything to the cloud so we don't have to keep iTunes running to play what's we've got stored on our macs. Good stuff.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    #6
    Crapidea when most of the world has capped downloads.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #7
    Not to mention Im not buying 4TB of iCloud to hold my entire library.
     
  8. macrumors 68030

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #8
    Unless I am missing something, you have the option to just keep everything local. We are notbeing forced to move everything to the cloud.

    I like having everything local, push come to shove I can cut our Internet off and still be able to stream right from my iMac.
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    #9
    Nope, Apple TV 2 needs the internet otherwise it won't stream anything from your iMac.
     
  10. macrumors 68030

    greytmom

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #10
    I wonder if there's a date range for the stuff that is now available on the cloud? I noticed that the earliest shows I downloaded are the ones not visible on my ATV2.
     
  11. macrumors 68030

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #11
    Are you sure.
    Stuff I have ripped on my hard drive cannot be streamed without the Internet.

    I will have to try when I get home.
     
  12. macrumors member

    prss14

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    #12
    You don't need the internet to stream iTunes media from your iMac. You just need a network. Either wired or wireless. You need the internet for Netflix and Rentals type stuff...but not iTunes from your iMac.
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    #13
    No it doesn't. It just needs to be connected to your Mac.

    And if I'm not mistaken, you don't have to pay for space on iCloud for items your purchased from iTunes. In other words the 60 gigs that a season of Fringe needs wouldn't be counted if you bought it from Apple.
     
  14. macrumors 68030

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #14
    Ok that is how I understood it worked as well.
     
  15. waiting, Aug 2, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2011

    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    #15
    I'm having problems right now with this update.

    I don't mean to threadjack, but I'm posting this here in case others develop the same problems with this update that I just got.

    I've been getting kicked out of podcasts on my ATV2 in the last couple of days. (In the middle of them, playback would stop and I would see that the screen had put me back at the main 5-column menu.)

    Just now, I was trying to listen to a podcast from my Favorites, when I was kicked out again. This time, there was the screen that offered the choices to update now or later.

    I chose Update now, and the download started. Right before the download bar completed, the screen went black for a moment, then I got something unexpected and that I haven't seen before:

    What showed was a large iTunes logo at the top-center of the screen with an image of a white micro-USB cable (not connected) pointing at it from below. Now I have no image (just my TV's default screen), and the ATV2's light has been blinking rapidly ever since. This just happened, moments before this post.

    Anybody have any ideas what happened, or what to do now? I'm still looking for answers myself online....


    EDIT: I just tried a reset of the ATV2 (held down MENU and [DOWN] for 6 seconds). Doing this just brought back the iTunes and micro-USB cable screen, which I still don't understand. Still searching for answers....
     
  16. macrumors 65816

    frunkis54

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    #16
    No i don't but you should start this in a new thread.
     
  17. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #17
    Looks like MLB added free game recaps in the latest update. Nice! NBA has had that since the beginning and I used it a lot last season. Anybody notice any other unannounced changes?
     
  18. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    #18
    Netflix resolution

    Since the update Netflix widescreen movie resolution all screwed up. Stuck at 4:3!
     
  19. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Location:
    Williamstown, NJ
    #19
    that was there before
     
  20. macrumors 6502

    Billy Boo Bob

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Location:
    Dark Side Of The Moon
    #20
    For me, I'm seeing a bug now in MLB.TV... While viewing the list of today's games (or even if I slide over to other dates), when I move down the list to view a game's progress (the inning-by-inning scores), if I sit on one for a few seconds, it will, on it's own, jump back up to the first game in the list. Very annoying.

    Tried an unplug/restart and no help.
     
  21. BlackMangoTree, Aug 2, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2011

    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
  22. macrumors 68030

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #22
    Good point, Mango
     
  23. macrumors 6502

    Billy Boo Bob

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Location:
    Dark Side Of The Moon
    #23
    Heh. I guess that's what you gotta do lacking a Delete button, eh?
     

Share This Page