Apple TV question

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by The Game 161, Jul 23, 2012.

  1. macrumors 601

    The Game 161

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Been thinking of getting it

    Do i need an HD TV to use it? I have hdmi on my TV but no HD

    Would i be able to watch NBA games through my TV vis the Nba.tv app? Or sky go through my Tv? Same with bbc iplayer

    How do i contact it to my phone? Will the apple Tv just pick my iphone up?
     
  2. macrumors G3

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #2
    You have to use an HDMI cable to hook it to your TV...if you have HDMI you have an HD tv. NBA TV will cost you money just like MLB TV. To hook your phone to ATV you just use airplay. It shows up on you phone when you are on the same wifi network. It only mirrors video or streams musoc, not the actual phone like a Mac would with ML
     
  3. macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #3
    It does mirror the phone screen, but I think it only works with the 4S.

    Regardless, I do think you need at least a 720p TV, which the OP says he doesn't have. So short of a TV upgrade, I don't think an Apple TV will work.
     
  4. macrumors G3

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #4
    Hmm I didn't know it mirrored the screen. Are you sure about this, I thought that was only ipads and macs. I never have seen the airplay button on my home screen. If the OP has HDMI he has to have at least 720p
     
  5. macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #5
    Double-click to bring up the switcher. Swipe right (to go left) and find the rotation lock button. Then swipe again to find the volume slider.

    If you're currently connected to an Apple TV you'll see a sharing button there. If you're not, the button doesn't appear.
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    MonkeySee....

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    My 4S mirrors. Don't really use it but its there.
     
  7. macrumors 601

    Technarchy

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    #7
    I have a 4S and it mirrors everything on Apple TV
     
  8. macrumors 68030

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #8
    What TV do you have that has an HDMI input, but is not HD.
     
  9. macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #9
    It was a short-lived fad known as "EDTV." It was a way to sell slightly better TVs to people back when HD sets started at over $2,000.

    Once HD prices came down, EDTV lost its reason to exist.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Enhanced-definition_television
     
  10. macrumors regular

    kemperman

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    As the OP lives in the UK he would not have an EDTV (US only fad).

    I would think he is confused between HD and FullHD (720p vs 1080p) which was another marketing craze created to make the gullible upgrade their 6 month old TV to FullHD a few years back, glad you didn't fall for it OP, pretty sure you have a 720p HDTV if you have HDMI and bought it in the UK!
     
  11. macrumors 68030

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #11
    Hey op post what tv you have, but as long as you have an HDMI input I do think the Atv will work for you.
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    sandman42

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #12
    When the original :apple:TV first came out it was commonly misunderstood that it required an HDTV, but at the time Apple only said that it had to be a widescreen TV, not HD, and the menu had settings for 480. The current tech specs for the :apple:TV say: Compatible with high-definition TVs with HDMI and capable of 1080p or 720p at 60/50Hz, so the current version may not work for you.
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 601

    The Game 161

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    After doing some research it appears we do have a HD TV as having 3 options on HDMI means it must be one duh

    I'm guessing iPhone and iPad it would work the same in terms of being on the screen for every app? The big reason to get it would be for the NBA so instead of watching it on my iPad or iPhone through the nba.tv app would be great to watch it on the tv Just need confirmation that I would be able to?

    Thanks alot for your help guys
     
  14. macrumors 68040

    MonkeySee....

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    My dad had an old LG TV with and HDMI port and it wasn't a HDTV.
     
  15. thread starter macrumors 601

    The Game 161

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    Well this one is fairly newish... 2 years ago and it appears it is HD after doing some research.
     
  16. macrumors 68040

    MonkeySee....

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    Ahh ok. Yeah his was about 4/5 years old. You should be good :D
     
  17. macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #17
    Just do you research the nba app is not even on my atv3 I'm in Canada so it might be US only
     
  18. thread starter macrumors 601

    The Game 161

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #18
    Well our nba.tv app you could watch every game live via league pass on iPhone and iPad. So,hopefully it would be fine on the tv via apple TV
     
  19. macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #19
    http://www.apple.com/uk/appletv/whats-on/

    does not list NBA as an app on the ATV on the UK apple site
     

Share This Page