Apple TV remote turns on my TV

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by cyberdogl2, Jul 5, 2013.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    199
    #1
    I couldn't find anything about this on the google or even the :apple:tv manual.

    To my surprise the select button turns my Philips TV on!

    Is this just pure luck with the IR codes

    Still need the TV remote to turn the TV off though
     
  2. macrumors demi-god

    SandboxGeneral

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    19,146
    Location:
    The New World
    #2
  3. macrumors 603

    Tomorrow

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6,292
    Location:
    Always a day away
    #3
    This could be HIGHLY annoying. :mad:

    Not sure if this would help you out, OP, but I use a Logitech Harmony remote for everything BUT the Apple TV, then I use the free Remote app on my iPhone or iPad to control the Apple TV. It works over wifi, so it shouldn't interfere with the TV's operation.
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    #4
    In your tv's menu turn off HDMI control
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    TheAppleFairy

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,400
    Location:
    岩手県
    #5

    I second the Logitech Harmony remote option, though I use my for the ATV also.

    I am not sure if this remote would fix his issue. This could be 1 of 2 things that I can think of.

    1. The signal for your TV and Apple TV has the exact same code (Unlikely, but possible).
    2. Your TV has the option to turn on when it sees a new HDMI signal, so when you turn on the Apple TV your TV sees a new source and turns on.

    I would unplug your ATV, and try the remote and see if it turns on your TV.


    EDIT: I took so long to type that it looks like blujacket beat me to it, but that goes back to what I was saying in option 2.
     
  6. macrumors 68030

    APlotdevice

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    2,690
    #6
    Apple remotes can emit a bunch of different signals based on what "ID" they are set to (there are 256 different IDs IIRC). This is what allows you to pair remotes with a specific Apple devices.

    To change the current ID press and hold both the menu and select/center button for five seconds. Afterwords it should hopefully no longer interfere with your television. If not, keep running through IDs until you find one that works.
     

Share This Page