Apple TV to Yamaha Receiver

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by ntimper, Sep 4, 2009.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    #1
    Trying to hook the Apple Tv into existing home theater system. The only video input options open on the Yamaha receiver are the component inputs. There are two options there : DVD or DTV.

    Fine so far except -

    We already have a dvd player and DVR hooked up to the recvr. using different inputs than component. Is there any way to use the component inputs at the same time the other inputs for the DVD and DVR devices are in use?

    thanks ~
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    #2
    You can get a component video switch for about $20. But why not just connect the ATV to your HDTV via HDMI directly, and then use an optical audio cable for sound?

    EDIT: Re-read your post, and I'm a little confused. If the receiver's component inputs are free, then go ahead and use them. Turn on your receiver and select the proper input for the ATV and you'll have video. However, I still suggest using the HDMI on your ATV. Not only is it better than component, but it frees up that input on your receiver for your DVD player or DVR, which will give you better video quality than the coax, composite, or S-video you are probably currently using for those devices.
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    Cliff3

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #3
    You might also consider going with an HDMI switch. I am using a fairly expensive one (Oppo HM-31) but I am sure there are less expensive alternatives.

    I have a Yamaha HTR-6090 receiver with 2 HDMI inputs and one putput. I have my satellite receiver connected to one, while my DVD player and Apple TV are connected to the switch which is in turn is connected to the other HDMI port. My Harmony remote is programmed to manage the switch along with everything else, so that aspect is largely transparent.

    (edit: assuming your Yamaha receiver is fairly recent and has HDMI at all, that is)
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Saratoga, CA
    #4
    Your Yamaha receiver may have the ability to re-assign inputs to different functions. If you let us know which model receiver you have, you will probably get a good solution to your problem.
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    #5
    You can do what others have suggested, but that will be to much of a hassle. You bought the receiver to be a switcher for your sound system so why not use it for its intended purpose. Simply hook up the apple tv with the red, green, and blue component input (which carries your video)and if you would like a better option for sound hook up the optical audio/ toslink cable for sound (that is a digital connection for sound). Plug those into which ever dvd or dtv input you want (those are just name holders you can put anything in those connections). You will be fine like that the only problem you will run into is if you have any thing plugged into the dvd or dtv (of the one you chose) in composite if so you will have to turn off the one you are not using to make sure the sound or picture is being overridden from the want you aren't watching.
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #6
    You should be able to remap the inputs. Check your yamaha manual. The apple TV will output component and HDMI at the same time.
     

Share This Page