Apple updated the website

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by anamenotused, Sep 9, 2005.

  1. anamenotused macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    #1
    Is it just me, or did you notice that when u add BTO specs for the macs, the site automatically totals it in and then highlights different parts, then fades out?? Kinda cool. No need to hit the "Update" button anymore.
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    I'm not getting that on the Australian EDU store. It has the BTO options alongside the Mac, but there's no fading and they're not necessarily related to what you select, it's just a list of what's available. :(
     
  3. Phat_Pat macrumors 68000

    Phat_Pat

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Location:
    I Live Where I Live
  4. quagmire macrumors 603

    quagmire

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
  5. firststrike101 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Manitoba, Canada
    #5
    I hated clicking the update button, it was annoying.
     
  6. tech4all macrumors 68040

    tech4all

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    NorCal
    #6
    I don't see it :( In fact I still see that "Update" button link. Am I missing something? :confused:


    EDIT: Odd, works on my PC with FireFox, but not on Mac with Safari nor IE.
     
  7. belvdr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #7
    Now that's ironic... :)

    EDIT: The fading doesn't seem smooth though. Apple can do better than that.
     
  8. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #8
    Wow. Crazy--works with mac firefox (OS 10.3.9) but not Safari.
     
  9. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #9
    I don't see a fade. I see an instantaneous switch from one to the other, not a cross-fade sort of thing. Not sure if that's what you meant by "fade." :confused:
     
  10. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #10
    Here is a 1.3MB movie capture of the effect - my settings make the fade appear rougher than it is - I actually see about twice as many fade increments, but, as mentioned, it still isn't smooth.

    Still, much nicer than having to update the price manually. And, no, I didn't buy the system.
     
  11. Eluon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Location:
    Spring, Texas
    #11
    that is awesome. too bad i can't do mucuh customization on my computers - i'm broke!
     
  12. FredAkbar macrumors 6502a

    FredAkbar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    #12
    That's really cool. Works for me in Safari 2.0, btw.
     
  13. Sirus The Virus macrumors 6502a

    Sirus The Virus

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Location:
    Texas
  14. tech4all macrumors 68040

    tech4all

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    NorCal
    #14
    That's the version I have. And I still see nothing.

    btw: Thanks for posting that QuickTime movie jsw.
     
  15. iceTrX macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Location:
    Outside of Detroit.
    #15
    I don't know if they updated it, but the fading is as smooth as can be in Safari 2.0.1.
     
  16. dubbz macrumors 68020

    dubbz

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    Alta, Norway
    #16
    It won't fade in, only out. And that only happens after a slight delay.

    And this doesn't seem to work in the .no store...
     
  17. FadeToBlack macrumors 68000

    FadeToBlack

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    Accoville, WV
    #17
    It works for me in Safari 2.0 on my eMac, but not Safari 1.3 on my Lombard. My friend pointed it out to me earlier when he was configuring an iBook on my Lombard. He says it works in Internet Explorer on his PC. (He's considering switching to an iBook when he gets the cash)
     
  18. CubaTBird macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    #18
    you need a core image compatible video card to take advantage of this effect.... sorry just had to.. :p
     
  19. tech4all macrumors 68040

    tech4all

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    NorCal
    #19
    Apple did another update with the BTO selections.

    EDIT: Apparently as they have not updated all of them yet. The Powerbooks are still the same way, but the Mac mini is the new way.
     
  20. bitfactory macrumors 6502

    bitfactory

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    #20
    It's AJAX updating using the prototype css styles. Pretty standard stuff now used extensively by Google and a few other folks.

    Pretty cool.
     

Share This Page