Apple Updates Aperture to 1.5.6 for Leopard

Discussion in 'MacRumors.com News Discussion' started by MacRumors, Oct 26, 2007.

  1. macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]


    Apple release an update to Aperture today, which brings Aperture to verison 1.5.6.Aperture 1.5.6 addresses issues related to performance, improves overall stability, and supports compatibility with Mac OS X v10.5. This update is recommended for all Aperture users.
    The update provides compatibility for Mac OS X Leopard which is launching today.

    Yesterday, Apple also release updates to iDVD 6 and iLife '08

    Article Link: Apple Updates Aperture to 1.5.6 for Leopard
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Vienna Austria Europe
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Peel

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Location:
    Seattle
    #3
    Downloading now. Just finished installing Leopard. Looks like this will be a day of updating.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
  6. macrumors 68040

    CrackedButter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    51st State of America
    #6
    Too late Apple, I sold my copy of Aperture and bought Lightroom.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    fastbite

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #7
    Puta Madre! Aperture needs all the help it can get.
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
  9. macrumors 6502a

    adamfilip

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Location:
    burlington, Ontario canada
  10. macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #10
    That will come in a system update, not an application update.
     
  11. macrumors 68020

    mainstreetmark

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Location:
    Saint Augustine, FL
    #11
    Does it enable iPhone note syncing?!


    Haha. Hijacking is fun.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Eric Piercey

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Location:
    Perpetual Bondage
    #12
    Lightroom all the way. Aperture is like using a screwdriver to take a rusted lugnut off.
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Norway
    #13
    THis update was VERY MUCH needed though, so I'm glad it came this quickly.
     
  14. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    #14
    I don't have it available to me though.....

    Anyone else????
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    #15
    Leopard Software Update asks for password HALF WAY THROUGH

    I installed the 9A581 build floating around the net on bittorrent. (I'm going to go buy it at 6, don't worry). This morning the Aperture and Pro Application Support updates showed up in Software Update. I installed both of them. The download started, and after they completed Software Update THEN asked for my administrator password for the install. This is a TERRIBLE change. I like to be able to hit install and walk away, not having to be there half way through the process to type my password. I think we should try to get Apple to change this back! What do you think?
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Norway
    #16
    Agreed, ask for password before the download starts, so it can run it's course without being managed.
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    #17
    Okay, so I downloaded the update after providing my Aperture 1.5 serial number on Apple's site, and as the install starts it tells me that I have to have at least Aperture Version 1.0 or later to install. what?
     
  18. macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #18
    Just use software update.
     
  19. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    #19
    Well, just as I was getting frustrated trying to open up aperture i see this.
    Downloading now, currently Aperture crashes as soon as it opens up in Leopard.
    No such issues with FCS though.

    So far so good with 10.5.0, much much smoother than 10.4.0
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    #20
    Software update doesn't list the Aperture upgrade. I'm a legal, registered user....

    Thus I went to Apple's site to download it. I had to enter the info to download the update; the installer fails immediately per above.
     
  21. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    #21
    Both are evidence that you don't have Aperture installed on your computer. If you do, it doesn't think you do. Run the 1.0 or 1.5 installer from original discs, then run the update.
     
  22. macrumors 6502a

    Peel

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Location:
    Seattle
    #22
    Make sure you didn't change the name of, or move aperture from it's original location. Software Update is very particular about the name and location of applications.
     
  23. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    #23
  24. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    #24
    Nope.. didn't do that.. Just sitting right at the top of my applications folder with the original name....

    Update: Fixed it. I had installed the trial version of Aperture and just entered the serial number weeks later after the purchase. I re-installed from the CD and now it worked. I was under the impression the trial was the same as the purchased app. Guess it's different in some ways.
     
  25. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    #25
    Agreed. Much Quicker and snappier. Both on the MP and MBP.

    Oh and I'm not a 100% but i think software update in general asks for admin password after downloading the update (well this happened for Aperture).

    And I don't know if this is the case for everyone else but MBP runs a LOT cooler whilst using Aperture. The metal strip above the function keys is barely warm.
     

Share This Page