Apple Weather Widget Moves......

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Yaja123, Jul 5, 2005.

  1. Yaja123 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    #1
    anyone know why the apple weather widget moves up or down 1cm everytime a start the powerbook? its the only widget that does this weird shift. its position well within the screen area and not overlapping etc....

    anyone?
     
  2. 5300cs macrumors 68000

    5300cs

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    japan
    #2
    Mine just stopped working for a few weeks. I had to remove it, then put it up again and it was okay :confused:
     
  3. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #3
    As far as I've understood it: The Weather widget (and some others) occupy a bigger space than the visible area. So if you have the widgets fairly close together they will think they're covering each-other and one (or more) will move a bit upon startup.

    To see how much space a widget really takes you can with Dashboard visible press cmd-(ctrl-)shift-4 then hit the spacebar. The cursor becomes a camera that will take a snapshot of whatever window it's hovering above. If you move that in over the Weather widget you will see it has quite an invisible top and bottom "border".
     
  4. Jaffa Cake macrumors Core

    Jaffa Cake

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    The City of Culture, Englandshire
    #4
    There was another thread on this quite recently that may interest you – I certainly find it annoying (I like my widgets nicely aligned!). I think Mitthrawnuruodo is right with his explanation.
     
  5. Switzermac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
  6. dcv macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    #6
    Don't know 'why' but this also happened to me last week. Remove it from dashboard and then add it back, re-select your town and hopefully it should work again.
     
  7. Switzermac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
  8. Moria macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #8
    Does anyone else's weather widget display the totally wrong weather? Apparently it's sunny at the moment... it's raining...

    Maybe the Glasgow I've selected isn't in Scotland? :confused:

    Edit: Just checked and it is on the UK one...
     

Share This Page