AppleCare for $119... how long?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by SteveC, Jan 9, 2005.

1. SteveC macrumors 6502

Jul 7, 2003
    I am browsing the Store for Education (I'm a college student) and just noticed that AppleCare for the iMac/eMac is $119.

Did they lower the price recently, or was it lowered a long time ago? Last time I bought it (last year) it was $139 through the Apple Store for education. Is the price likely to go back up soon?

Also, I plan to buy a new iMac or eMac in the next weeks. Do you know if I can buy AppleCare NOW and activate it on my computer after I buy the computer?

I'm wondering if I should go ahead and buy AC now for the reduced price, since I'll be buying it in a few weeks anyway.
  2. Grimace macrumors 68040

Feb 17, 2003
    with Hamburglar.
    AppleCare for those machines was never $139. It is $169 without the EDU pricing.

You can buy it ahead of time if you like, but the price isn't likely to change.

Buy it at the time of purchase. Whether ordered online or in an apple store, it is immediately linked to your machine so you don't have to call or send anything in.
  3. SteveC thread starter macrumors 6502

Jul 7, 2003
    The AppleCare Education price for the eMac was $139 when I bought it last year. I can scan my Apple Store receipt and show you if need be. ;) It was purchased through Apple directly.

On the part about them immediately linking AC to your machine, you're saying they can do that if you buy the machine and AC at the same time, right?
  4. intrepkid21 macrumors regular

Apr 6, 2004
    Long Island, New York