AppleCare Protection Plan worth the money?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by inlimbo, Jan 30, 2005.

1. inlimbo macrumors 6502

Jan 29, 2005
    Sydney, Australia

If the well rumored speed-bumped Powerbook G4 comes out on Tuesday Im going to buy it (Whoo-hoo!). Im new to the mac world and wondered if the AppleCare Protection Plan and a .Mac subscription is worth the dosh? the APP will cost me $579AUD and a .Mac subscription will cost me $158AUD. Seems like a lot of money, especially to a poor student like myself. Are either of them necessary. I have read on the official Apple website's discussion forums of people having various problems with their powerbook/iBooks such as keys sticking in the keyboard and screen problems etc... So do u think I should extend my warrenty just in case something like that happens? What has been your experience?

2. Gee macrumors 65816

Feb 27, 2004
    London, UK
    You can buy apple care anytime in the first year (i.e. before the 1-year manufacturer's warranty runs out), so I wouldn't bother with it straight off.

.Mac is really cool. Not sure it's totally worth the money if you're a student, but it does offer a lot - free backup and virus software, homepage to publish your photos on the web, and of course mail. If you think you'll use more than a couple of these things, I say go for it....
  3. James Craner macrumors 68000

James Craner

Sep 13, 2002
    Bristol, UK
    I would definitely recommend Applecare for a laptop, If it goes wrong out of warranty it can be very expensive to fix. However as Gee suggests you can do this anytime in the first year.

As far as .Mac is concerned it's value depends on how much you use the various facilities. Not everyone thinks that it is worth it, but I do. I suggest you take the free 60 day when you get your Mac.

As you are a student don't forget to check out the special student pricing on hardware and software, if you haven't already.