Apple's remote control

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Aniej, Mar 22, 2007.

  1. macrumors 68000

    Aniej

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    #1
    Maybe I'm alone on this one, but I really wish Apple would update the remote and make it a little cooler looking than it currently is. I just think the white design on a small object like that looks cheapy and plastic and is a bit out of place with each piece of hardware it belongs too. This seems like an option to me since form factor is not constrained in a manner similar to decisions made for a comp's housing. At least one easy suggestion would be make the remote out of a shuffle and keep the clip. Just an example, not my pitch. ;)
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    speakerwizard

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    apple remote is infra red
     
  3. macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #3
    I think they should get rid of the remote completely. It's a waste of money and 90 percent of users never use it. Sell it on the apple store, or make a deluxe version to sell, but don't force it on everyone.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    cwedl

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    #4
    I use mine all the time!! when I'm watching something on my mac and someone knocks at my door and I'm sitting on my bed, I pause the video using the remote, someone tells me to turn the volume down I use the remote, I sometimes go into frontrow as well. I'm sure loads of people do the same!
     
  5. TBi
    macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #5
    I just wish you could turn the volume down on the optical outputs with the remote too :(
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    spencecb

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    #6
    The Apple remote does not use Bluetooth, except for maybe the pairing feature, but I do not believe Bluetooth is used there, either.

    This is why all Macs that ship with an Apple remote have to have an IR sensor, because the remote operates using IR (infra-red).
     
  7. macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #7
    Maybe we should add a poll to this thread:

    How often do you use your Apple Remote?

    Daily
    Weekly
    Monthly
    Never
    Don't have an Apple Remote
     
  8. macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #8
    In response, - Weekly when in University, Daily when at Home :D
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #9
    I don't use mine a lot but, I do use it and wouldn't want to not have one. To pick an option from wordmunger's suggestions I'd say I use mine weekly.
     
  10. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #10
    I think it's cool, and I doubt it adds much to the price (it's not like the systems that have it went up in price over what they replaced).

    If I had one, I'd probably use it at least a few times a week. Probably mostly to control podcasts while I'm doing other stuff (I wish I had one every time I have to get up to pause a podcast :D )
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #11
    I use mine daily

    But there's one thing I don't understand :confused:

    It uses no batteries so how is it powered??
     
  12. macrumors 68030

    TheAnswer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #12
    It has a small battery...the guide to how to replace it is here.
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Location:
    South West England
    #13
    do you genuinely believe there isn't a battery in the remote?! :s
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #14
    Well if there is how is it charged...magnet?
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Location:
    Finland
    #15
    It's not supposed to be charged. If the battery runs out, you simply replace the battery. Just like 99.999% of remotes out there.
     
  16. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #16
    That's one thing I don't like about that remote. I wish it used regular (and cheaper) AAA batteries. It could probably do with more functionality too.
     
  17. TBi
    macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #17
    It's powered by Steve Jobs RDF. It has a small amplifier inside which amplifies the RDF to provide enough power. The problem with this is that if Steve jobs uses your remote it will over load and blow up.

    Apple have designed a special remote just for Steve which doesn't amplify the field. Also Steve powers his laptop this way.

    It just defies belief doesn't it?

    And it would be bigger and harder to use. The whole point of the apple remote is to be easy to use. I don't think it's lacking anything. The only thing i see lacking is in the software. It would be really nice if when you have a movie highlighted ready to click play, that you could click right and get a menu of other things to do (I.E. Play (of course), look up IMDB for the file, file size, bit rate details).
     
  18. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #18
    Steve has a very "green" home thanks to his RDF technology :D

    Bigger, but harder to use? How so?
     
  19. TBi
    macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #19
    If you added functionality it would be harder to use.
     
  20. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    #20
    I don't know if the volume on anything optical can be adjusted. Optical is just 10110011 (binary), there is no gain as on an analog signal. The processor which handles the optical signal (ie your stereo receiver) converts this signal into an analog signal it sends to the speakers.... it is this final signal that needs to be adjusted to adjust volume.

    For all of you apple-remote haters, just get a Logitech Harmony remote, and program it to do the work of all of your remotes. I have one, and swear by it.
     
  21. TBi
    macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #21
    You can change the optical volume in windows. Basically all it does is change the binary sequence so the output is quieter. For audio purists this is a bad thing, for me personally i like the ability.
     
  22. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    #22
    That is interesting. It seems to me that you would want as pure of a signal to your digital / analog converter as possible, then do the volume adjustment on the analog side, but hey, that's just me. ;)
     
  23. macrumors 68000

    Antares

    #23
    Yeah, I use my :apple: remote pretty much daily. I don't think I could ever do without it now.
     
  24. TBi
    macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #24
    As i said... for audio purists it's a bad thing. When i'm listening to high quality music then yes i'd like that too. However sometimes you are just sitting around, maybe doing some work around the house and it would be so nice if you only had to have one remote with you, to easily turn up and down the sound.

    Plus loads of people don't care that much. Oh and don't say "just use analog so"
     
  25. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #25
    So does the digital signal carry some "volume" command within it? I can't think how else that would work.

    To the earlier poster-the remote could be bigger to accept regular batteries and still have the same buttons. Plus more buttons doesn't automatically make something harder to use. My Tivo remote has a lot more buttons, and it's easier to use than a iPod, and probably than Apple's interface (from what I've seen on it).
     

Share This Page