Apple's stock is still moving up

Discussion in 'Current Events' started by Ja Di ksw, Dec 21, 2005.

1. Ja Di ksw macrumors 65816

Ja Di ksw

2. davefan6435 macrumors regular

Near the end of summer of 2004 before the Paris Expo I told my dad to buy some Apple stock, did he listen to me? No, and over the last year the stock has gone up quite a bit. I'm still kinda mad about that one.

3. Lord Blackadder macrumors G5

Lord Blackadder

I very nearly bought Apple stock with my savings when I was a high school student in 1997....<sigh>

I don't even want to know how much Apple's stock has gone up since then.

4. freeny macrumors 68020

freeny

we grabbed some right before the video ipod came out at $51 now $74. Almost 50% profit:)

5. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

IJ Reilly

Around 1,500%.

Sorry, you didn't want to know. :eek:

6. Lord Blackadder macrumors G5

Lord Blackadder

Gee, thanks. :rolleyes:

I'm not even going to tell how much money I could have made on that little speculation. :mad:

7. MongoTheGeek macrumors 68040

MongoTheGeek

Its not so much where you are as when you are.
    Everyone realizes its going to tank after MacWorld when people realize that there won't be g5 powerbooks and iPods won't come preloaded with 120G of music of your choice and that the sunshine that squirts out of Steve's tuckas won't run your solar powered flashlight...

That and the p:e ratio is 47...

8. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

IJ Reilly

That's the trailing PE. The forward PE is more like 33:1. That's still pretty rich, but not out of the ordinary for a rapidly growing company.

9. amholl macrumors 6502

I had the exact same situation as you.It was like 26 back then....

10. MongoTheGeek macrumors 68040

MongoTheGeek

Its not so much where you are as when you are.
    They are seriously expecting that much growth?

I figured forward looking at 40. 33 is actually getting close to a reasonable number, if they expect to keep up the growth.

11. cxny macrumors 6502