AppleTalk, ethernet and an SE/30

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by Thomas Harte, Apr 2, 2007.

  1. Thomas Harte macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    #1
    Hi,

    I posted a short while ago about my impending ownership of an SE/30. I have now received the machine, and I have obtained the correct SCSI cable and a SCSI terminator. I have a suitable CD-ROM (an AppleCD 300e+) coming in the post. But to my surprise the machine has come with a whole load of software already on the drive that I would like to preserve. So I have invested in an AppleTalk cable and an Assante AppleTalk to ethernet bridge.

    My question is quite simple — what can I do to get the SE/30 talking, and ideally filesharing with my existing OS X v10.4 MacBook Pro? The machine is currently running System 6, and clearly has some TCP/IP stuff on it because it already has MacPPP and MacWWW installed. In any case, I can hopefully use the CD-ROM to transfer whatever other files it might need.

    My current home network is just a wireless router that goes out to a broadband connection, so that leaves both a free ethernet port on the router and a free ethernet port on my MacBook Pro.

    Am I likely to have any luck?
     
  2. madmax_2069 macrumors 6502a

    madmax_2069

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    Springfield Ohio
    #2
    appletalk in OS X isnt like appletalk in classic. i have never got my Performa 475 running system 7.6.1 to work with the appletalk in OS X (i have 10.4.9). i can tho connect my P475 to the Beige G3 to share its connection but other than that you need classic to be able to use appletalk like that.

    you can alway's try a FTP or other method to transfer files over
     
  3. topicolo macrumors 68000

    topicolo

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Location:
    Ottawa, ON
    #3
    There's a program called DAVE that is supposed to allow Classic Macs to access SMB (windows shares). This way, you wouldn't have to use Appletalk. As for what that SE/30 can do, apparently it's a lot. If you can scrounge up enough 30pin RAM, it can take up to 128mb I believe. That is an insane RAM limit for a mac so old
     
  4. Forced Perfect macrumors 6502

    Forced Perfect

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada.
    #4

    Appletalk will not work because OS X uses Appletalk over TCP/IP - which your SE/30 can't do (I think it was added in Mac OS 8.5 or 9.0).

    I'd Recommend DAVE but it will be hard to find a copy (legally :p) and I don't think it works with system 6.

    The way IPs work on LocalTalk (aka "Appletalk networking with the serial ports") is different than on Ethernet in that you usually can't just set an IP for your Localtalk Mac and run that though the bridge to an Ethernet network.

    I'd first try picking a static IP address in the same subnet as your router (such as 192.168.1.4 - check the IP on your MacBook and just add 5 to the last number and type the same router/dns/subnet info into the SE).


    If all goes well you'll all be on the same TCP network. Then you can use a simple program like Hotline FTP (http://www.forcedperfect.net/hotline/downloads/) to share the files.

    Unfortunately I don't think you can set the IP using LocalTalk the same way - it needs a MacIP server to act as a TCP/IP bridge to a normal Ethernet network. I have a normal Localtalk bridge but I have a Cisco 2500 series router on my network that just functions as a MacIP server to give my (many) LocalTalk Macs IP addresses and full internet access.
     
  5. madmax_2069 macrumors 6502a

    madmax_2069

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    Springfield Ohio
    #5
    there might be some useful info here.

    http://68kmla.net/viewtopic.php?t=8925&highlight=appletalk

    but the topic above was about appletalk over Wlan but ended up talking allot about OS X and classic appletalk.

    but having a older system prolly not able to run system 7.5.x it might be out of the question. but there could be some pointers there to help you out

    or just go to www.68kmla.net and search around
     
  6. Thomas Harte thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    #6
    According to MacTracker, the SE/30 can run up to 7.5.5. I'd like to keep System 6 for some boring projects I'm half pursuing, but I'm not against putting 7.5.5 on it, especially if I can dual boot somehow (?)

    Anyway, I seem to have something of a dilemma because it doesn't seem to inherently know how to talk to the CD-ROM drive (though it clearly knows it's there, since if I set it to ID 0 to clash with the internal HDD then the machine won't boot), which makes getting software onto it extremely difficult. I'll have to try and obtain a floppy disc or two from somewhere and see if the floppy drive works. If not then I really don't have a clue what to do next. I have an old SCSI to USB adapter, so my guess is that an external SCSI hard drive might be a good investment...
     
  7. madmax_2069 macrumors 6502a

    madmax_2069

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    Springfield Ohio
    #7
    i do know when i set up my external SCSI LaCie SCSI drive on my P 475 i had to install intech cd/dvd speedtools 6.0 in order before it would use the drive since its not a apple branded drive there is other cd driver extensions out there that will allow it to work if its not a apple branded drive. my external drive has a built in terminator i can turn on or off. but if its the only drive other than the internal HDD it had to be terminated before it would work. if the external drive dont have a terminator switch you will have to buy a external terminator fo rthe drive.

    also you have to make sure that the SCSI id number isn't conflicting with anything the system is using or it wont work
     
  8. Forced Perfect macrumors 6502

    Forced Perfect

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada.
    #8
    System 6 doesn't ship with the Apple CD-ROM extension. Do you have it in your System Folder?
     
  9. Thomas Harte thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    #9
    Nope, no CD-ROM extension. The CD drive works perfectly through a Belkin SCSI to USB thing on my MacBook, so I guess that's the current problem. It does leave me with a bit of a chicken and egg situation though as I only have System 7 on CD and nothing apart from my SE/30 has a floppy drive. I'm also still not completely persuaded that the drive in the SE/30 works as it came with one floppy disc in it that it refused to read, but if I format it then it spits it out after finding an error in format verification. I have no other floppy discs and they don't seem to be on sale anywhere obvious any more.

    I guess the intelligent question is, what devices does System 6 definitely support across SCSI? If I buy an external SCSI drive then can I be certain that the SE/30 will be happy with it? I know it can only work with volumes up to 2GB in size, does that mean I can't buy a bigger volume or does it just mean that I'll either see multiple volumes or else only use 2 GB of the device?
     

Share This Page