AppleTv and now... IPAD

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by newt2mac, Jun 24, 2010.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    #1
    so, ive had an appletv for a few years and converted my whole dvd library via handbrake using the APPLETV preset. Also converted some avis using visualhub and the appletv preset. Now, with my new ipad, it looks like i have to reencode. Can I reencode from my already encoded file or do i have to use the original?
     
  2. macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #2
    Doesn't it look fine on an iPad?

    If not, I'd use the original unless your re-encoding to a lower quality version.
     
  3. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #3
    I don't understand why you would have to re-encode. I think the general consensus right now is to use the Apple TV preset unless you are working with HD content.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #4
    Why re-encode at all the iPad will have no problems playing files encoded to AppleTV specs, and if an AppleTV encoded file is good enough for your living room TV at 32" and upwards then it's going to be good enough for your iPad with it's tiny 9.7" screen.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    #5
    i agree thats what i thought, but when i try to sync with my iPad or Ipod Touch for that matter, it doesn't allow it saying format not recognized. but they play fine on my apple tv and within iTunes
     
  6. macrumors member

    SurfMacJpMtb

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    My older Handbrake conversions will not play on the iPad. I had to re-encode with the current version of Handbrake. The video codec profile was set to a value that was not compatible with the iPad.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Location:
    In Hell
    #7
    Yeah, I was less than impressed that I can play new 720p rips but not old 720*275. The new device should play all codecs from older apple products, sloppy really.
     
  8. macrumors 601

    BornAgainMac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Location:
    Florida Resident
    #8
    What exactly is causing it not to play? I wish MP4 files could scale to any device. I have to have special files for PSP, Playstation, Apple TV, iPod 5G, iPhone, iPad. I just want a good quality mp4 file that will run on everything. I did notice the Zune (older version) played normal ripped Handbrake DVDs with no problem.
     
  9. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #9
    Well specifically that would be the Apple >Universal Preset with the ac3 track removed for sony device compatibility.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    #10
    i can see it when i select things to sync to my ipad, but after the sync is done, it says "some of the videos could not be synced" and it just doesnt even copy them to the iPad
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    #11
    I found that you can change the ending .m4v or .mp4 on some encoded videos and then they work. I forgot which way but just do the opposite of these two.
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    Shoesy

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    Colchester, UK.
    #12
    I like to use air video for files that won't play.
     
  13. macrumors 68000

    richpjr

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    #13
    My experience is similar to what others mentioned in that movies ripped with the ATV preset play fine on my iPad.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    #14
    what about converting avis to mp4s with visual hub and the appletv preset?
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    Chris Rogers

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    my house
    #15
    I did this last month with a few files and for some reason they lost the sound
     

Share This Page