AppleTV wireless Question Please Help

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by benlee, Feb 17, 2008.

  1. macrumors 65816

    benlee

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #1
    My girlfriend's father wants to get an AppleTV. However, he does not have an ethernet port by the TV and the wireless router he uses is one provided from Verizon Fios. Will this still work and connect the the Network Wirelessly. Or is it like the Airport Express where to work with a 3rd party router it needs to be wired?

    Thanks for any Help.
     
  2. macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #2
    It should be fine. Our ATV sees the AEBSn, the Qwest DSL wireless modem, and a couple of our neighbors' wireless networks. Just make sure his wireless assigns the same subnet address to the ATV and the computers running iTunes and you should be golden. Hopefully, his is 802.11g at least; preferably 802.11n.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 65816

    benlee

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #3
    Thanks. So the other Router doesn't need WDS capability to work like the Airport Express does?
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    cohibadad

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #4
    I don't know what WDS has to do with it. :apple:TV does not need :apple: wireless router.
     
  5. macrumors 65832

    ingenious

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia, United States (Kansan in exile)
    #5
    No, the AEBS needs WDS capability because it too is a router, and it is extending the range of a wireless network.

    The :apple:tv is just a wireless device.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 65816

    benlee

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #6
    OK. I guess I understand. But I thought that the Airport Express needed WDS capabilities even to be used in client mode. So I couldn't use a wireless AE to play airtunes without WDS. Why is this different or am I totally wrong?
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Location:
    Newton, MA
    #7
    benlee,

    To answer your original question clearly:

    This is exactly how the Apple TV was designed. It connects to your home network wirelessly using "g" or "n" speeds, depending on what the wireless router is capable of.

    There is no need for connecting the AppleTV via ethernet. The ethernet connection is available as an option.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 65816

    benlee

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
  9. Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #9
    You're totally wrong. :p I used my Airport Express in client mode for AirTunes while I was still using my Westell 327W from Verizon DSL and a Linksys WRT54G. Neither of which supported WDS.

    I also used the :apple:TV with a FiOS Actiontec router before I replaced it with an Extreme extended by my Express. The only trouble I ran into was interference limiting my bandwidth until I was able to get better signal levels in the living room.

    Ultimately I'm planning on replacing the Express with a Time Capsule and wiring all the stuff in the AV area :)apple:TV, Wii, iMac, DirecTV DVR) together.

    B
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 65816

    benlee

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #10
    So you used AirTunes in client mode without ethernet? Hmmm. Perhaps it only need WDS to extend the range. Thanks for the info.
     
  11. Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #11
    Correct. I never got WDS to work with my WRT54G, but was still able to use the Airport Express for AirTunes.

    B
     

Share This Page