AppleWorks On MacBook

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by lexus, Jun 1, 2006.

  1. lexus macrumors 68000

    lexus

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Location:
    Depends Greatly On The Weather
    #1
    How come there is no AppleWorks on the MacBook. I thought it came standard on all lower end mac's?

    Thanks
     
  2. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #2
    Appleworks isn't a universal binary and won't be updated to one. My belief is that when MS pulls Office from the Mac in about 4.5 years Apple will preload all new Macs with iWork. But that's just my guess.
     
  3. lexus thread starter macrumors 68000

    lexus

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Location:
    Depends Greatly On The Weather
  4. jholzner macrumors 65816

    jholzner

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Champaign, IL
    #4
    Pages will open Appleworks documents with all formatting preseverd as long as they were saved in V6 of Appleworks. If they weren't it may lose formatting or not open at all.
     
  5. AtHomeBoy_2000 macrumors 6502a

    AtHomeBoy_2000

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    #5
    Wait a few weeks.... NeoOffice 2.0 will be available for Intel Macs soon. It's basically OpenOffice that runs on Macs with native Aqua. I have NeoOffice 2.0 on my PowerPC iMac at home, I love it. Far better than AppleWorks.
     

Share This Page