Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bndoarn

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Mar 16, 2008
i'm not a developer but i have an idea for an application to use with the new peer to peer feature in the new SDK so if you're a developer and are wondering what app to create next, please read. i was thinking about a chatting app where you can chat to people on a peer to peer network. i know some of you are probably thinking why would you need this because you would be close to the other person you are chatting with but what if you're on a bus and the other person is near the front and you are near the back. or what if you wanted to have a private conversation with someone else in the room. i would actually pay for an app like this (although probably not much more than $1.99). please reply to this post with your comments and/or some CONSTRUCTIVE criticism good or bad and/or some application ideas of your own.

Jeremy1026

macrumors 68020
Nov 3, 2007
There is an app that does this already, but only with WiFi right now. I can't think of the name off the top of my head, but the icon is black with two orange lower case i's.

Edit: iCloseBy WiFi. I wouldn't be surprised if they make it so it works on P2P for 3.0

TuffLuffJimmy

macrumors G3
Apr 6, 2007
Portland, OR
I'd love that! A lot of my friends in my classes have iPhones and there is no reception in the school. It'd be great if we could text over a local peer<>peer network.

chaten

macrumors newbie
Mar 17, 2009
app idea

I have an excellent Idea for an App that I need someone to create: