Application Switcher OS X

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by diall, Jun 29, 2003.

  1. diall macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    I was wondering if anyone has come across a way of disabling the 'application switcher' hot keys in OS X. I use Adobe packages every day and am used to toggling tools by pressing cmd + TAB. As you well know this toggles open applications.

    If anyone can tell me either way - ("yes it can be done, but I have know idea how" or "no, it is not possible" or "easy mate just run this apple script" I would really appreciate it


    DIALL
     
  2. irmongoose macrumors 68030

    irmongoose

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Location:
    Sometimes Tokyo, sometimes California
    #2
    I don't know if this works, and I don't know if this is in any other Adobe app, but in Photoshop, in Preferences>General, there is an option that says 'Use Shift for Tool Switch'... try deselecting this and then use apple-tab to see if it works.



    irmongoose
     
  3. Unclej78 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Location:
    Georgia
    #3
    Anyone find out how too! I use Quark and the APPLE TAB keystrokes all the time. I'm new to OSX. Any help would be appreciated.
    Thanks
     
  4. simX macrumors 6502a

    simX

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #4
    See this link: http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?story=20031001155049966

    That should do what you want in Mac OS X OR Mac OS 9.

    I'm just curious, though... were you guys used to using Mac OS 9? Because if you didn't know the obscure solution in Mac OS 9, Command-Tab would hijack the same commands under Mac OS 9 as it would in Mac OS X, so it's not a Mac OS X-specific problem.
     
  5. Unclej78 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Location:
    Georgia
    #5
    Yes, used to OS9, I knew how to turn if of in OS9, didn't event think about it working in OSX. Thanks, will give it shot.
     

Share This Page