Apps the don't work with jaguar

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by mac15, Aug 22, 2002.

  1. macrumors 68040

    mac15

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Location:
    Sydney
    #1
    after having jaguar for 2days, I have realised some of my apps don't work anymore

    here is a small list:

    Roxio Toast Titanium 5.1.4
    Roxio Jam 5
    Carracho (quits at startup)
    Norton Antivirus 8
    Dantz Retrospect 5

    thats it so far, I'm gonna test all my apps tonight so it could be more

    this was expected but we need updates urgently
     
  2. macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
    #2
    toast is the biggest one on your list for me.... hmm.

    hopefully everyone gets onthe ball quickly.. just like they did with os x itself.... oh wait..
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    #3
    retrospect

    I think there is a patch for retrospect ! try their site.

    Let me know if it fixes it because I'll be upgrading next week !
     
  4. macrumors 601

    Backtothemac

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Location:
    San Destin Florida
    #4
    I have not had any problems with Jaguar at all. Everything runs, and runs well, especially VPC. Man, it is much faster.
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    evildead

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2001
    Location:
    WestCost, USA
    #5
    any one else have the same problems?

    I'm scared to install 10.2 if toast and Carracho dont work anymore. I'm sure the well put out a patch soon but... how soon? I use Toast almost daily

    any one else have the same problem?
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #6
    My toast works fine, ecept the fact that i cant mount disk images on my desktop through toast...which is a bummer...im running 6C115(not a) and Toast 5.1.3
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Location:
    SFBA
    #7
    anybody know if photoshop and the rest of the adobe crew works?

    my friend says that there are sone probs in PS....
     
  8. macrumors 68000

    tjwett

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NYC
    #8
    there is a PS 7.0.1 update released today. maybe it's the fix for some Jag issues.
     
  9. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Location:
    Chicago
    #9
    Toast 5.1.1 seems to work fine in my machine (at least it loads, haven't tried to burn anything yet). Real One Player doesn't load, though. It's a shame, since they just released it. But then again, real networs is a piece of crap.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2001
    Location:
    Scandinavia
    #10
    Have anyone tested Flash MX? Photoshop, InDesign, GoLive and Flash are all on my must-have, must-work list...
     
  11. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
  12. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2002
    Location:
    Sunny San Diego
    #12
    My Toast is good too.

    Toast 5.1.4 under Jag I burn, I mount, I spread jelly on it.
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Location:
    CT
    #13
    toast and others

    My Toast 5.1.4 works fine. My only problems are with MS IntelliPoint (i know...) and Palm related programs (HotSync Manager, DocumentsToGo 5.0). I may just have to reinstall them, I'll have to find out. Otherwise, Jaguar is running great! :)
     
  14. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #14
    That's good news. Any increase would be a big increase, especially in Mac OS X! :)
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    IndyGopher

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2001
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #15
    Intellipoint works fine for me, but I did reinstall it. Toast 5.1.4 also works fine for me, as well as Carracho, although I had to get the new version, as the last one did crash as soon as it finished getting all the servers tracked down. I haven't run into anything that doesn't work.. I'm sure they are out there, though.
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    #16
    Logitech Control Center Doesn't Work

    Dreamweaver and Photoshop seem to work fine.

    I lost 90% of my address book which is kinda annoying.

    And the Logitech Control Center which Logitech took forever to release doesn't work at all. Does anyone know when they're gonna fix it? Logitech doesn't say anything about 10.2 on their website.
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    FattyMembrane

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Location:
    bat country
    #17
    i dont have jag yet, but i am almost certain that the latest update to carracho was released specifically to make it run under 10.2. check vt and make sure that you have the most recent version
     
  18. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    #18
    Apps & Jaqwire

    USB Overdrive makes a nice LCC alternative... I've been using that instead of LCC for a couple weeks now - works fine with my USB Optical Wheel Mouse doohickey.
     
  19. macrumors 65816

    ibookin'

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #19
    Eveything works fine for me with the notable exception of the Netfinder FTP client.
     
  20. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Location:
    delaware
    #20
    what about running nortons disk doctor?

    i would like to run nortons but i would like to know if it is ok? does anyone know?
     
  21. Lz0
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #21
    After my 10.2 update I tried to create a temp partition in Toast 5.1.2 but that failed the error was "-50". I updated to 5.1.4 and all is fixed.

    All my other apps are running fine with the exception of the Logitech mouse/drivers which is now tracking slower than I would like.

    Finally why would you want to use Nortons or any other disk/file utility. In all my experience the only time any of them were any use was back in the days of system 8, since then they have been more trouble than they are worth.
     
  22. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2002
    Location:
    UK
    #22
    I'm running 10.2 installed as an upgrade and downloaded from ADC - here's what I’ve found so far -

    Toast 5.1.4 works fine
    Carracho has been updated to 1.0beta 7 and no longer crashes after loading trackers - if your into that kind of thing.
    Photoshop has been updated to 7.01 (i think) and seems OK
    Norton Personal Firewall has problems 10.2 shows a warning about lowering security of the OS - deleted the npf.kext (the firewall extension) and use the built in firewall for the time being
    Norton Privacy Control - same thing as NPF, not much use any way so deleted it :)
    MS Office - seems fine
    Printing on network printers seems a bit buggy, I get a long pause when the print dialogue pops up, the printer name then appears and its ok again, seems to scan for printers each time which is a bit annoying.

    Good update on the whole though entire system seems more responsive :)
     
  23. macrumors 68020

    mymemory

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Location:
    Miami
    #23
    Aplications that don't run in OSX:
    -Protools + plugins
    -Digital Performer + plugins
    -Reason
    -Recicle
    -Artmatic Pro
    -Motion Dive 3
    -TRacks
    -OMS and FreeMidi
    -Rithmyc Circle Fuse
    -Videodelic
    -Bunch of After Effects plug ins.
     
  24. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #24
    I believe Roxio's support page promises an update for Toast with full Jaguar compatibility soon.

    Other than that, I've not noticed anything major (yet) but then again, I've spent most of my time since receiving it yesterday reinstalling applications.

    One strange one I did note was that Vue D'Esprit 4 behaves a bit oddly - the installer screen is larger than the physical screen, and in the application itself the menu bar has a habit of turning blue.
     
  25. macrumors 68000

    Over Achiever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Toledo, OH, formerly Twin Cities, MN
    #25
    Is VPC as fast in the "window" mode as the full screen mode? Is 1024x768 useable? Heres a way to check your VPC emulated speed...

    You can in windows go control panel > system
    The emulated speed is in the lower right

    or if that doesn't work,
    1. Click 'Start Menu' then choose 'run'
    2. Then type 'dxdiag' and press enter.

    I'm starting a thread in the mac help/question discussion for all you VPC users...who will have that best emulated speed?:D
     

Share This Page