Apps using significant power: Spotlight

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by Michael Goff, Jun 11, 2013.

  1. macrumors 603

    Michael Goff

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    #1
    It seems to constantly be there.

    Is this a known issue? Also, Chrome is there whenever I open it... but meh, expected.
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    w0lf

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    It uses a bunch of power when it first indexes the system. After that it has used pretty much nothing. Notice that activity monitor ranks the apps by average power by default.

    Chrome is probably there because I would imagine it opens its cache when you start it which is probably a few GB. Also web browsing in general is something that tends to use a lot of power/system resources.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 603

    Michael Goff

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    #3
    Maybe I'm just unlucky, because it's been off and on all this morning despite it not doing anything.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Drew017

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Location:
    East coast, USA
    #4
    This was going on for me, but it stopped after a while
     
  5. macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl
    #5
    OS X Mavericks is a bit nervous.
     
  6. macrumors member

    travisbrowning

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Location:
    Fort Walton Beach, FL
    #6
    Definitely just from the Spotlight indexing, it does it pretty heavily when you install a new OS.
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Bilemshious

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    #7
    My Spotlight has been indexing off and on for a few days now. It never goes further than maybe 3% when I click on Spotlight, then it'll just disappear. Then start over again.

    Any ideas?
     
  8. macrumors 68000

    Ddyracer

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    #8
    Common issue. You could try disabling then turning it on in spotlight prefs. Drag your Macintosh HD icon in the privacy tab then remove it. It will force a reindex.


    Spotlight prefs is in system preferences.
     

Share This Page