AppStore error (NSURLErrorDomain error -1012.)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by the bug, May 24, 2014.

  1. the bug, May 24, 2014
    Last edited: May 24, 2014

    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    #1
    I just finished flashing my MacPro 1,1 bootrom and SMC to 2,1 and everything seems to be working except when I check the AppStore for updates I get the following error :
    The operation couldn’t be completed. (NSURLErrorDomain error -1012.)

    Strange because I can download new apps, but only get the error checking for updates.
    I'm running Mavericks 10.9.3 with the Tiamo boot.efi file, everything was working fine until I re-flashed the firmware (maybe just a coincidence, but I haven't made any other changes except the re-flash).

    Here's what I've tried :
    - rebooting
    - repairing permissions
    - clearing caches with Onyx
    - checking for unfinished downloads from the App Store (none)
    - repairing keychain
    - and even re-setting SMC again

    Any other suggestions to try ?
    Thanks in advance.

    - Jay
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #2
    It's an Apple Server problem, don't sweat it. I'm getting the same thing this evening and I haven't flashed anything except my wife. ;)
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    #3
    Thanks man, I appreciate the news that it's not just me.

    I reckon it was probably a good thing for me to do all the cache cleaning and permission repairs after re-flashing anyways. :)
    No, really I was planning on doing all that stuff anyway... umm... yeah, right. :) :eek:

    Thanks again.

    - Jay
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #4
    I'm getting the same error right now.
     
  5. macrumors 601

    dannyyankou

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    #5
    I also got this message today.

    I got paranoid my computer had a virus, so I restored it to be safe. Good to know that isn't the case, but I just wasted 3 hours doing this, lol
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura
    #6
    Same issue here.. Been a few hours now.. Annoying..
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    #7
    Same issue here ... on my iMac and my MacBook pro
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    Location:
    Europe
    #8
  9. rbrewer, May 26, 2014
    Last edited: May 26, 2014

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    #9
    Doesn't seem fixed to me. I was getting the NSURLErrorDomain error -1012 from Software Update, but now I am getting:

    Can't load data from the Apple Software Update server.

    Hopefully Apple sorts this out...

    Here is an article with manual download links. Many articles (including Apple's security bulletin) just link to the top level of support downloads, and I couldn't find Safari 7.0.4 there.

    http://www.tekrevue.com/safari-7-0-4/
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    #10
    Deactivate Antivirus

    It was so easy to solve this. I deactivated Kaspersky for a moment and could update everything. The error message disappeared. Then I reactivated the Antivirus protection.
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    #11
    Hate to bump an old thread but I'm getting this error also and even spoke with Apple support twice. One said it's a server issue, other support person had no idea what it was but doesn't believe it's a hardware issue on my end. Very frustrating. I've been getting this for the last couple of weeks which is way too long.
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    #12
    Bumping an old thread as well; I'm getting the same issue on my Mac Pro 1,1. It happens on both accounts, so it's not a login item issue, I don't run any firewall or AV, so it's on Apple right now. Been this way for at least 2 weeks, hopefully gets resolved.
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    #13
    For me it was a certificate issue. I had an apple tech tell me what to do over the phone and edit some of the certificates and presto, all was well. Haven't had the issue since.
     

Share This Page