Archos Box

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by StealthRider, Jan 10, 2003.

  1. StealthRider macrumors 65816

    StealthRider

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    Yokosuka, Japan
  2. benixau macrumors 65816

    benixau

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #2
    probably. i dunno. you see it is desinged to kill the ipod.

    but it is a brick (box = brick in pcland). it uses USB 2 which ahs been shown to only under rare circumstances be faster than firewire 400 (i like having to put that now :D :D).

    the ipod may not have a color screen but it has a lot of other benefits.

    especially the windows version.
     
  3. StealthRider thread starter macrumors 65816

    StealthRider

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    Yokosuka, Japan
    #3
    thanks. I'm either going to get the ten GB (mac) iPod or this for my PC. I like the size of the iPod, but it doesn't seem as useful as the Archos thing. wish they made it with FireWire, though.
     
  4. benixau macrumors 65816

    benixau

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #4
    get the pc one. it works with a mac and you get the software and compatibiltity with a pc if you ever need it.
     
  5. Over Achiever macrumors 68000

    Over Achiever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Toledo, OH, formerly Twin Cities, MN
    #5
    It also supports Firewire400;), check out the PDF for it.

    That said, if the iPodII ever gets released, it'll prolly have Firewire800 support as well ;)
     
  6. pantagruel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Location:
    here and there
    #6
    yeah this thing could kill the iPod, if you dropped it on one that is! talk about bulky and ugly.
     

Share This Page