Ardour OSX FREE DAW now Universal Binary

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by FFTT, Apr 29, 2006.

  1. FFTT macrumors 68030

    FFTT

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
    #1
  2. wmmk macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #2
  3. FFTT thread starter macrumors 68030

    FFTT

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
  4. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #4
    are you using it now? iirc, you said some time ago that you were going to check it out.
     
  5. wmmk macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #5
    well, the transparency IS cool. a bit lighter wold be nice. a real mac os interface would be great. i know a cocoa port may be tough, but it'd pay off a lot. linux apps' menus drive me nuts. support for vst and au would be great too. btw, where do you find the LAPDSA plugins and in which folder do you put them. higher resolution audio support would also rock. 24 bit 96khz AT LEAST would be good. 24/192 would just be awesome.

    still, this project has promise. just once it becomes a real mac os x app. i know it's open source, so maybe i'll do a cocoa port. how long would that take?
     
  6. scottlinux macrumors 6502a

    scottlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    #6
    It's free- I'm not complaining. Does an excellent job for hard disk recording.
     
  7. airkarol macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    #8
    i'm having a problem with it, I need x11. What is that?
     
  8. airkarol macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    #9
    Never mind, I think I got it. I read online that it comes with XCode Tools. I'm installing that now.
     
  9. FFTT thread starter macrumors 68030

    FFTT

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
    #10
    I must confess that I'm a complete noob to digital recording as well as a technophobe.

    I had already scraped together enough to buy ProTools M-Powered and at the time, I wasn't sure how to use my ProjectMix I/O with any DAW software.

    Ardour was still in development and without knowing diddly squat about digital
    recording, I couldn't figure out how to use it.

    I bought Logic Express too, but gave up and decided to try ProTools.

    Even with training DVD's, I'm still having trouble figuring out all of this digital recording stuff.

    Ardour is still a diamond in the rough, but from what I've read, it should
    do everything any other professional DAW can do, as long as you have the
    time to learn it's capabilties.
     
  10. wmmk macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #11
    no no no! i thought that at first too. xcode only installs the x11 sdk which lets you compile x11 apps. insert your tiger dvd, go to optional installs, and uncheck all but x11.app btw, you also need jack audio router. if you're on panther, get x11 here
     
  11. wmmk macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #12
    can i borrow the logic installer cd?
    jk, that would be piracy and piracy is bad.
     
  12. airkarol macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    #13

    yeah, i figured that out after i installed xcode tools haha.. .. its working now, and i also got jack. the program is a little confusing, i'm still trying to figure it all out. i plugged in 2 mics and it recorded fine, except where it shows the waveforms as its being recorded, it was slow bringing those up. the interface is pretty bad, but looks cool haha, its just very confusing. I use pro tools m-powered, and i think it's easier, but thats probably just because i'm used to it haha
     

Share This Page