Are Blu ray rips still hd

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by jeb1, Sep 3, 2009.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #1
    Hi,
    If i convert a blu ray or obtain a blu ray rip from somewhere is it still hd if its in 1280 x 528. I thought it had to be 720 to be hd. Its weird because some rips will be 3gb and be 1280 x 720 and some will be 4-5 gb and be 1280 x 528. Im confused about the whole thing. If you convert a film to 1280 x 528 and its not going to be hd still whats the point you might as well convert a dvd surely. Sorry if im being a complete dumb ass. Finally how come films off itunes are only 4gb in hd. Can you remove the drm off them if you do download off itunes. Sorry again if im being a dumbass
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    northy124

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #2
    On resolution read up on Aspect Ratio. Size depends on bitrate and film length. DRM cannot be removed unless you would like to violate Apples terms and conditions.
     
  3. macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #3
    The bigger the resolution the better.
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #4
    You aren't encoding the black bars... you can't raise the vertical resolution back to 720 without distorting the video. Don't worry, it's normal.

    This is just like how a DVD (480p) can sometimes have a resolution like 720x304.
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    northy124

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #5
    And you base that on what???

    Bigger resolution is nothing without decent bitrate and encoding settings.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #6
    I also used to save mkv files as self contained files so i could import them into itunes. With the new quicktime x it doesn't give me that option but it says save as movie so i am assuming this will do the same thing. What is intriguing me though is the save as hd 480p and 720p options. Does this mean it will upscale a normal file into hd or is this just for saving already hd files??? Im confused, please help and sorry if im being an idiot.
     

Share This Page