Are FB-DIMMS required for the Cloverton Xeon ?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ender78, Nov 24, 2006.

  1. ender78 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    #1
    I know that the MacPro requires FB-DIMMS in its current form. Howerver, I can't remember if one can run the Cloverton with non FB-DIMMs. I am looking at picking up a MacPro in the new year but the price of memory is putting me off.
     
  2. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #2
    The Mac Pro and XServe are using the Intel 5000 Series chipset, which is a workstation/server level chipset -- not a desktop chipset.

    It is the workstation chipset requiring the FB-DIMMs, not the CPU.

    Likely and future Mac Pro/XServe will keep using workstation/server level chipsets, so wherever Intel goes for memory tech -- these machines will follow.
     
  3. SMM macrumors 65816

    SMM

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Location:
    Tiger Mountain - WA State
    #3
    I have not had the time to study the chipset & memory. Is this technology worth the heavy dent it has made in my wallet? I am running my MP underpowered right now (2GB), waiting for the price to go down some more.
     
  4. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #4
    Right now, yes.

    If you need a Mac with a lot of memory 16-32GB it is your only choice.

    However, because it is server/workstation memory -- and not a high volume solution -- it'll always be pricey.

    Right now your choice is a laptop variant chipset with 3GB, or a workstation.

    There is no middle ground premium or low end desktop chipset based Mac. Not really a lot of choice.
     
  5. SMM macrumors 65816

    SMM

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Location:
    Tiger Mountain - WA State
    #5
    Thanks. Well, it is not like I did not know this going in, and it was not a deal-killer. I am kicking around getting a Clovertown. But, another voice inside me is saying, "Wait until Spring-Summer".

    I probably can only justify one additional CPU purchase for a couple years. I already have a 2.66 quad, a G5 quad and a G5 dual. I am hoping the next release of FCS will make better use of this horsepower. Regardless, I am not feeling pressured to make a quick decision. I do not see Clovertown as a revolutionary product, more evolutionary.

    Do you have any feel for the timing of a better bus design? If recent news has been released, then I missed it. Below is a link to a story I read almost two years ago. It is on-point of what I am wondering about.

    http://www.us.design-reuse.com/exit/?url=http://www.infoworld.com/article/04/12/16/HNintelbus_1.html
     
  6. Catfish_Man macrumors 68030

    Catfish_Man

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2001
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    The article is referring to Intel's "CSI" bus (common system interconnect). I haven't looked into it recently, but last I checked it was meeting mostly skepticism due to delays.
     

Share This Page