are firewire 800 HDs worth the cost?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by kwajo.com, Jan 7, 2004.

1. kwajo.com macrumors 6502a

kwajo.com

lately i've been getting into more and more video editing, and have heard alot about the use of a scratch disk for editing. I have a 17" powerbook and the internal drive is way too small and slow for me and i need help with external firewire drives.

I really want to use the firewire 800 port on my system but i'm beginning to wonder whether it is worth it or not. so i'm asking all you video experts out there whether it is worth the extra money to get a firewire 800 drive (keep in mind i am a student, low cost is a must, i'm buying a drive instead of one of my textbooks ;) ) will I notice much real world speed difference when using the drive as a scratch disk?

also, is it cheaper to buy an enclosure or a drive with a hd already inside? and is ebay even worth my time to look through on this one (i'm in canada btw when you are thinking of stores)? i'm looking for at least 120 GB i think, 80 just seems too small

anyway, anything and everything will help me out, and i look forward to some good replies as I know i can get them here :cool:

p.s. final cut on a 17" laptop is oh so very sweeeeeet! :D

2. CalfCanuck macrumors 6502a

I'd say yes

Since the FW 800 drives are only about $60 more for a prebuilt unit, I'd say go for it. After all, why not move to the next generation? (Just like you should ALWAYS buy USB 2.0 unless it's a lot more cash).

I picked one up a FW 800 for a new 15" PB that never came (had to head off for an extended roadtrip while they sorted out the screen fiasco) when my last 120 GB died, and have been pretty happy with it on a temp G4 iBook.

Prices:
    LaCie FW 800 250 gb: $349
    Low price FW 400 250 gb: $190

LaCie FW 800 160 gb: $249
    Low price FW 400 160 gb: $190