Are imac and mac pro config the same?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by jimbo110, Aug 13, 2006.

  1. jimbo110 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #1
    iMac

    2.0GHz Intel Core Duo
    1GB 667 DDR2 SDRAM - 2 x 512MB
    250GB Serial ATA drive
    ATI Radeon X1600 with 256MB SDRAM
    Keyboard & Mighty Mouse + Mac OS X
    20-inch TFT display
    SuperDrive 8x (DVD+R DL/DVD+RW/CD-RW)
    AirPort Extreme
    Bluetooth 2.0

    mac pro

    Two 2GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon
    1GB (2 x 512MB)
    NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT 256MB (single-link DVI/dual-link DVI)
    250GB 7200-rpm Serial ATA 3Gb/s
    1 x SuperDrive
    Both Bluetooth 2.0+EDR and AirPort Extreme

    I made these two configurations on the apple store. I noticed the Mac pro is about is about 18% higher priced than imac. Since imac have a display built-in is there any reason to buy Mac pro in above configuration? Since in my eyes the look really similar.
     
  2. Origin macrumors regular

    Origin

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    Nantes, France
    #2
    If you don't see the difference, then, buy an iMac, the MacPro is not for you !

    iMac : one LCD integrated display
    MacPro : no display at all, but replacable GfxCard and possibly multiple GfxCards for many more than 2 monitors.

    iMac : ONE Dual-Core processor with 2Megs of L2 Cache
    MacPro : TWO Dual-Core processors with 4Megs of L2 Cache (and i dont even mentionned that it is two Xeon professionnal processors)

    iMac : one front side bus running at 667 Mhz
    MacPro : TWO independant front side buses each running at 1,33 GHz

    iMac : One SO-DIMM memory expansion slot
    MacPro : 8 FB-DIMM memory expansion

    iMac : One slot for the harddisk
    MacPro : up to 4 disks

    iMac : no PCI Express expansion slots
    MacPro : 1 Gfx slot + 3 PCIe general purpose slots empty

    etc. ...
     
  3. jimbo110 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #3
    Thanks I must not be really awake...ha ha Didn't notice it was TWO Dual-Core on the pro. I know the up to 4 disks but don't need up to 4 harddisks.
     
  4. steelfist macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    #4
    it can be confusing.

    for example, look at the processor speed. you haven't heard of the megaherz myth, have you :)
     
  5. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #5
    They're nothing like each other. One is a pro piece of kit and one is consumer with entirely different abilities in terms of upgrading etc

    What do you want to do with your Mac? How long do you intend keeping it? Do you want to upgrade it regularly with internal drives/graphics cards? Do you want something compact or a traditional tower and monitor set-up?

    If all you intend to do is some basic photo editing/video editing, surfing, mail, then the iMac will be enough for you. Stick some extra RAM in and you'll be fine. In a few years though, you're looking at buying a new machine entirely though and retiring that iMac to the bedroom to watch DVDs on.

    If you buy a PowerMac then you can pretty much run anything... and you could add new hard drives, new graphics cards, new displays and possibly new processors as they become available. But it's bigger, bulkier and you have to decide whether the extra cost of it initially plus the cost to buy any new components is worth it to you or whether the additional performance (which will be substantial) is overkill for your needs.
     
  6. CyberDoberman macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    #6

    Be careful when you say you don't need more than one hard disk.

    Look at the LEOPARD features (OS X 10.5) the Steve previewed at the WWDC.

    The backup feature called Time Machine will pretty much need it's own hard disk ... so never say never... ;)
     
  7. jimbo110 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #7
    Yeahh I hear somewhere megaherz is pure marketing.
     
  8. jimbo110 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #8
    The I think the most demanding task right now is photoshop and dreamweaver. Normally I upgrade my computers and keep them for years. The only thing that excites me about the imac is the fun features like remote and front row. Since I work from home.
     
  9. Josias macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #9
    Also:
    iMac: One 8x DVD+/-RW DL drive.
    MacPro: One or two 16x DVD+/-RW DL drives.

    iMac: 3xUSB 2.0, 2xFW400.
    MacPro: 5xUSB 2.0, 2xFW400, 2xFW800.:D
     
  10. jimbo110 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #10
    You are right extra hard disks may be very useful. At the moment I use external hard disks.
     
  11. jimbo110 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #11
    Good point about the superdrive. I don't use that many USB's
     
  12. jimbo110 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #12
    I only need a remote and front row on the mac pro then I'm convinced;)
     
  13. Josias macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #13
    Yeah, I use two: Mighty Mouse (soon to be BT), and then printer/iPod Shuffle randomly... I could do with one...:rolleyes:
     

Share This Page