Are Imac DV discs suitable for IMac OS8.5

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by haute@tiscali.c, Nov 13, 2006.

1. haute@tiscali.c macrumors newbie

I am new to Apple computers. I have an iMac OS 8.5, which is working fine, but I do not have the original OS discs. I do have a set of genuine iMac DV model discs (Software Install and Software Restore).
    My problem hinges around my Internet Connection which uses Internet Explorer 5 on a Broadband connection. I have a good email connection, but when I attempt to open Internet Explorer 5 I immediately get an error message “ An error occurred in loading the MS Internet library(PPC) library. Re-installing should solve the problem” I have been advised elsewhere on this forum to update and/or install another type of browser. Hence the question whether the DV discs will update the OS 8.5 satisfactorily. I am not sure whether the DV discs will have any Browser software either?

2. ickystay macrumors regular

Go ahead and insert the DV Software Install and look for a folder called "Software Installers". Good chance there will be an IE installer there.

I don't think the installer will dump your old bookmarks or whatever, but you should probably go to System Folder/Preferences/Explorer and make backups just in case.

3. haute@tiscali.c thread starter macrumors newbie

Thank you very useful information.
    Yes the disk did contain software installer?Internet access>install Internet access which I did and it went smoothly. There was another folder there "parts" which contains Aladin,CAF pats,MS Parts,Netscape Parts & pluggins but their was no obvious way of installing them.
    This resulted in Netscape Communicator being installed (12Mb), but all I can find at the present time is Netscape's equivalent of Outlook Express and I have been unable to configure it as yet. No sign of a netscape browser to do away with Internet Explorer 5.