Are the iMac processors overclocked??

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Spanky Deluxe, Jan 18, 2006.

  1. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    Have a look in the pictures in this thread over at x86project. It shows the Intel EFI utility running. In it it clearly says "Genuine Intel(R) CPU 1500 @ 2.00GHz".

    ?????

    Thread link: http://forum.osx86project.org/index.php?showtopic=6956&st=260


    Spanky


    Edit: There is a 1.5Ghz Yonah Dual Core Chip, its a low-voltage one (i.e. a good one for default overclocking):
    The 2.0Ghz Dual Core Yonah part costs $423 btw.

    Maybe this is how Apple are making their money and keeping the same kind of profit on their iMacs as they did with PowerPC chips?

    CPU Prices source: http://labs.pcw.co.uk/2006/01/intels_new_cpus.html

    Edit 2:
    Its perfectly reasonable to expect mobile chips to be overclocked when in use in a desktop since the P-M line of chips has always been easily overclockable on air. Just check over in the Xtreme Systems Forums to see what's been done in the past. I'm guessing the chip in the MacBook Pro will not be an overclocked part though.
     
  2. ReanimationLP macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #2
    Dude. wtf? :mad:

    IF THEY ALREADY OVERCLOCKED THEM HOW CAN I OVERCLOCK THEM SOME MORE? :(
     
  3. gekko513 macrumors 603

    gekko513

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    #3
    Why do you assume that 1500 has something to do with the clock frequency?
     
  4. Spanky Deluxe thread starter macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #4
    Why not? Its a pretty strange number to have in there otherwise. The codename for the 2Ghz part is "Core Duo T2500" after all and has nothing to do with 1500 either.

    Edit: It *might* just be a type or an error in the EFI utility since the single core version of the Yonah 2Ghz part has a model number of T1500 as opposed to the dual core versions' T2500. Hopefully this is what it turns out to be. The Apple spec page for the iMac just says "1.83GHz or 2GHz Intel Core Duo processor" and doesn't specify which model number the chips actually are.
     
  5. law guy macrumors 6502a

    law guy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Location:
    Western Massachusetts
    #5
    SD - Terry (post 284) seems to have a theory on your question that you posted on the other board with the linked image. I do not know if his theory is correct, but it seems unlikely to me that these chips are overclocked. Apple is using chips at the freq for announced products and I can't identify any need that would push Apple to overclocking here.
     
  6. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #6
    I find it hard to believe that Apple would have overclocked the CPU's in the new intel Macs. It is probably a typo.

    But being able to overclock the chips from the speeds that they are at now would be nice. :)
     
  7. mzd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #7
    given that 1500 is not only lower clock speed, but single core, i'd say it is unrelated to model number. it is one thing to imagine apple overclocking the cpus, but getting a dual core out of a single core processor not even in production yet is quite another story.
     
  8. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #8
    Ah, good point mzd.

    If only I could make my Dual 2.3GHz Power Mac G5 a Quad...... :D ;)
     
  9. dermeister macrumors 6502

    dermeister

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    #9
    Overclocking is relative to the recommended/stable clockspeed a CPU is marked as when shipped. If intel decides to run x chip at y frequency as default when given to a PC manufacturer that will use them in z machines made to handle it, it doesn't mean anything has been overclocked.

    If anything, most processors intel ships are "underclocked" in the sense that they are defaulted to frequencies that are overly-safe.
     
  10. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #10
    Which is something that I heard that Intel does/has done.
     
  11. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #11
    I think that bios image 1500 @ 2.000 ghz is not to do with speed bu chip identifier.. Notice how the 1500 does not have ghz or a point between the 1.500

    I don't think there's anything to worry about at all :)
     
  12. Capt Underpants macrumors 68030

    Capt Underpants

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #12
    The "1" in "T1500" refers to the fact that it is a single core processor. If there was a 2 in its place, it would be a dual core processor.
     

Share This Page