ARE there any games you can play on the Macbook?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Coolerking, Sep 8, 2006.

  1. Coolerking macrumors member

    Coolerking

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    #1
    While playing video games on the Macbook aren't important to me, I'm just curious what and if you can play anything on the MB.

    thanks
     
  2. lewion macrumors regular

    lewion

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    Kalmthout
    #2
    A lot and even some of the great games out there!

    I'll say a few games if you'fe interested

    Cod2 works like a charm, keep it on default settings
    Hl2 works like a charm (bootcamp) see somewhere on the forum for the loading crash problem
    Civ4 Working
    Doom3 works but not at the fastest side 25-35fps still playable though
    Battlefield 2 (bootcamp) works like a charm

    Do i need to tell more :)
     
  3. lewion macrumors regular

    lewion

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    Kalmthout
    #3
    As for that loading crash problem of hl2!

    Right click your Half Life 2 icon on your desktop (the one you would normally double-click to launch the game). Then click Properties. Click the Shortcut Tab. In the line labeled Target, you will see something like this, depending on where you put the program when you installed it:

    "C:\Program Files\Steam\Steam.exe" -applaunch 22

    Copy and paste the following AFTER the above line:

    +mat_forcehardwaresync 0 +snd_async_prefetch_priority 1

    Be sure there is a space between -applaunch 22 and +mat

    and voila have a nice day :) you can also set it to directx 7 if youd like for some extra performance...
    just add -dxlevel 70 to the line!
     
  4. Coolerking thread starter macrumors member

    Coolerking

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    #4
    What is cod?

    I assume Hl2 is Half Life 2.

    I guess if I was going to get a computer game it would be a FPS like doom 3 (but I don't think it would work on MB)

    Thanks for the info!
     
  5. telecomm macrumors 65816

    telecomm

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Location:
    Rome
    #5
    Unreal Tournament 2004 is universal binary, so that should play really well.
     
  6. lewion macrumors regular

    lewion

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    Kalmthout
    #6
    jup! unreal tournament runs like 30-40 fps so not bad
     
  7. lewion macrumors regular

    lewion

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    Kalmthout
    #7
    i just said doom3 worked i even have a video and it looks fast

    Cod is call of duty but is said cod2 so .... :)
     
  8. Coolerking thread starter macrumors member

    Coolerking

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    #8
    Oh, sorry I missed that. Might have to get doom then.

    Thnx again
     
  9. lewion macrumors regular

    lewion

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    Kalmthout
    #9
    No problem =) like to help people out that have the same problem as i had... Merom or no merom the macbooks gonna be ordered on the 16th for me
    Maybe i even go to apple store and have it right away on the 16th... as i live in belgium thats not much of a problem... not everyone needs a mac right :)
     
  10. XP Defector macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    #10
    What sort of framerate's do you get with HF2 (and in what resolution?).
     
  11. Coolerking thread starter macrumors member

    Coolerking

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    #11
    Man, it just seems like Doom 3 would be slow with these requirements:

    System Requirements (from apple website):
    Operating System: Mac OS X 10.3.6 or later
    CPU Processor: PowerPC G5 or later
    CPU Speed: 1.5GHz or faster
    Memory: 384 MB or higher
    Hard Disk Space: 2.2GB free disk space
    Video Card (ATI): Radeon 8500 or better
    Video Card (NVidia): GeForce FX 5200 or better
    Video Memory (VRam): 64 MB or higher
    Media Required: DVD Drive
     
  12. lmalave macrumors 68000

    lmalave

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Location:
    Chinatown NYC
    #12
    World of Warcraft and Civ 4 play beautifully

    Sure! You'll probably be able to play just about everything except for the latest First-person shooters. But even a lot 3D games are fine in general.

    For example, I am able to play WoW will all the default settings (already up to level 37 orc warlock). My only caveat is that I do mostly solo adventuring, and my MacBook has 1.25 GB of RAM. The game performs beautifully and I'm even comfortable just using the trackpad to play - no mouse needed! I think all the people that assume you can't play WoW with integrated graphics obviously have never tried it on a MacBook. To reiterate I've basically had NO issues and have greatly enjoyed playing WoW for many, many hours on end.

    ...The only other game I've bought for my MacBook is Civ 4. Again, it performs beautifully (the only glitches are bugs in the Civ 4 for the Mac OS X, they're not specific to the MacBook itself). I was able to play a Large world size to completion (2050, won by points), and the interface was just as fast if not faster than any other Civ version I've tried (e.g. Civ 3 on Windows).
     
  13. Coolerking thread starter macrumors member

    Coolerking

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    #13
    I'm not a big fan of quest games, but its good to know they are an option. More often than not I play PS2 or PSP, but some games you can only find on the computer.
     
  14. Ninjabelly macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    #14
    I think the problem people have with WoW on the macbook is once you move up to the higher level 20 and 40 man instances. I know people with the last generation of nvidia cards 6600 to 6800 who see moderate lag with them when there is alot going on around them. WoW however for non 60 casual playing on a Macbook is more then fine.
     
  15. 73CortinaV8 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Palo Alto, CA
    #15

    Flight Gear - an opensource flight simulator. macosx build
    http://www.flightgear.org/Downloads/
     
  16. lewion macrumors regular

    lewion

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    Kalmthout
    #16
    ahum ever heard of a WINDOWS version...??? :) that'll sort it out
     
  17. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #17
    I seriously doubt that HL2 will work like a "charm" on a MB... unless you play it at like 640*480 with all options turned off.
     
  18. WannabeMacUser macrumors member

    WannabeMacUser

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    Éire
  19. XP Defector macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    #19
    HF is quite a demanding game graphically, and system requirements wise, it's hardly anything near Oblivion. I doubt these games will run comfortablely on a MacBook. Imagine how good MacBooks would have been if they'd have managed a half decent video card.
     
  20. Chone macrumors 65816

    Chone

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    #20
    I just got a new MacBook, I have a ton of games and I'm 39 minutes away (according to the stupid lengthy winxp installation) from installing windows... I'll let you know what the macbook can play and how well it can.

    Hopefully the GMA950 is not as bad as I think but I'm not expecting great performance out of anything.
     
  21. lewion macrumors regular

    lewion

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    Kalmthout
    #21
    Even hl2 episode one works good.. and no it isn't 640*480... its 1024*768 ! anyway lol it does work and it does it good

    MacBook is a nice system...
     
  22. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #22
    I run Civ IV on my macbook (2Ghz, 2 GB RAM) quite a bit and it does NOT play "beautifully." I play in 1024x768 with all the settings turned down. I can certainly play a full game, but there's definitely some delay when moving to a new unit, entering a city, etc. Definitely not a "snappy" experience, and not for the impatient.

    The only other game I play on my MB is Warcraft III, and that runs fantastically, even with Rosetta.
     

Share This Page