Are there any mac programs to transfer files to RAZR?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Winstonp, Sep 29, 2005.

  1. Winstonp macrumors 6502a

    Winstonp

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Location:
    Boston
    #1
    Are there any mac programs to transfer files to RAZR?

    Speaks for itself...anyone know?
     
  2. taeclee99 macrumors 6502a

    taeclee99

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Location:
    Anywhere but here
    #2

    I don't think there is a mac version of motorola's mobile tools program. That being said, the only way to transfer files to the RAZR is through your mac's bluetooth connection.
     
  3. native00 macrumors regular

    native00

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Location:
    San Diego
    #3

    I searched on several forums trying to figure out how to send custom made ringtones and wallpapers to my ROKR, but to no avail as there truly is no Mac version of Mobile Phone Tools. I tried the bluetooth connection and viola! It was soooooo easy its ridiculous. Bluetooth is your friend.
     
  4. Winstonp thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Winstonp

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Location:
    Boston
  5. MacFan782040 macrumors 6502a

    MacFan782040

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Location:
    Scranton, PA
    #5
    You must not have Verizon. :mad:
     
  6. thekaiser macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA
    #6
    I use my PB with my Razr to transfer ring tones. Just turn on your bluetooth on your mac, then turn your bluetooth on your razr on and then select find me. You can make your BT on your PB discoverable. Then setup devices it will then go find the phone and ask you to enter the pass key in to authenticate. After that you have a browser you can use to drag and drop files. It is real slick.
     
  7. widgetguy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    #7
    if it blue tooth isnce should work depend on if ya have bluetooh on ya mac
     
  8. mcarnes macrumors 68000

    mcarnes

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    USA! USA!
    #8
    You just go to bluetooth (in the menu bar), Send File...
     
  9. Josh396 macrumors 65816

    Josh396

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Peoria/Chicago, IL
    #9
    I get how to exchange the files between the two but how do you set a song as your ring tone? I have Cingular and tried once to do this but I couldn't get it. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  10. carpe diem macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
  11. Rod Rod macrumors 68020

    Rod Rod

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #11
    The CDMA Moto RAZR v3 is coming in 2006. It's already available in South Korea. But yeah, Verizon is likely to disable it. Anyhow people have figured out how to hack into the v710 to enable full Bluetooth functionality. Take a look at these two articles:
    v710 with iSync
    v710 with Internet Connect
     
  12. anotherjeff macrumors regular

    anotherjeff

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Location:
    Honolulu
    #12
    Don't forget the class action that was just settled over the v710 at Verizon
     
  13. native00 macrumors regular

    native00

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Location:
    San Diego
    #13
    Not to seem rude, but I could care less about haveing a version of Mobile Phone Tools as long as I can use Bluetooth, because its sooo much easier.

    I played around with this for a minute. Your tones need to be short in length (30 seconds or less) and relatively small in file size (less than 300kb is nice) depending on how many you want to have. At first, I was using the data cable and dragging my custom tones into the drive that showed up on my desktop. For some reason the phone doesnt recognize them as usable tones that way, but it worked perfectly when I used Bluetooth.
     
  14. Josh396 macrumors 65816

    Josh396

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Peoria/Chicago, IL
    #14
    Where did you put the file at and where did you find the file on your phone?
     
  15. native00 macrumors regular

    native00

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Location:
    San Diego
    #15
    Once you browse for devices and select the Moto E1, you should see a menu with 4 folders: MMC (Removable), audio, picture, and video. i went for the obvious choice and dragged them into the audio folder.

    On the phone, go to My Media, then Sounds, and your tone should be in there. You should be able to select an Apply As Ringtone option. If not, then you most likely did something wrong with making the tone, i.e. the file is to big.
     
  16. Josh396 macrumors 65816

    Josh396

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Peoria/Chicago, IL
    #16
    I'll have to try that again. I did that the first time but it didn't work and I even tried making the file smaller. I got it to transfer to the RAZR but I couldn't find it anywhere on it. Thanks for the help.
     
  17. Josh396 macrumors 65816

    Josh396

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Peoria/Chicago, IL
    #17
    Well I finally got it to work. I don't know what the problem was the first time but maybe it was the fact it was an AAC file. Thanks again for all the help.
     

Share This Page