Are You Installing 10.7 Dev Preview on Your Primary Machine?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by Ahheck01, Feb 24, 2011.

?

Installing 10.7 on Primary Machine

  1. I won't and wouldn't recommend it.

    44 vote(s)
    24.2%
  2. I will be - we'll see how it goes

    35 vote(s)
    19.2%
  3. I have - no major functionality bugs

    73 vote(s)
    40.1%
  4. I have - going to have to go back to Snow Leopard

    7 vote(s)
    3.8%
  5. Don't have access to try

    23 vote(s)
    12.6%
  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #1
    Considering it. I'm down to one machine, so to test the OS I'd have to replace Snow Leopard. Anyone else doing it, or have already done it?
     
  2. macrumors demi-god

    iPhone1

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #2
    I have Lion running on my main MBP. No problems so far.

    Photshop CS5 works, office for mac 2011 works, Aperture 3 works.

    Only thing that does not work is the WebKit nightly build browser, not much of a loss there.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #3
    I will give it a try once I get a Mac Dev account, if anything goes wrong i got Snow Leopard and Time Capsule :)
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    Phil A.

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Telford, UK
    #4
    You can install Lion on an external USB drive and boot into it when you want to try it out, which is what I've done.
    I certainly wouldn't recommend using it as your main OS as it's the initial beta and anything could happen with it, including loss of data, etc.

    One thing that doesn't work with Lion is Dropbox - Lion just says it's incompatible and you need a newer version (which obviously doesn't exist yet)
    Also, no Rosetta in Lion for those who want to run PowerPC apps
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    #5
    Ive always had good luck with betas. It doesnt take long before the betas become just as good for most people as the final release.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Applepi

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #6
    Installed on my Macbook Air. So far, so good.
     
  7. macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl
    #7
    VMware Fusion?

    Has someone installed it as a "Mac OS X 10.6 Server" 64-Bit "guest" within VMware Fusion v3.x.x?
     
  8. macrumors demi-god

    mmomega

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #8
    Somewhat. Me and my wife have 2 iMac 27's and I've installed it on my iMac and MBAir 13. One to have during my daily home routine and one to take and test on the go. Also this can give me a side by side comparison when executing the same task between Lion and SL.
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    CristobalHuet

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Location:
    Montreal
    #9
    There's no way I'm going back to Snow Leopard now. Ever. :D
     
  10. macrumors demi-god

    iPhone1

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #10
    +1
    I'm shocked by how stable Lion really is.
     
  11. Mal
    macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #11
    I have a second partition on my drive that I'm going to put it on to test with. I'd use a different machine if I had one, but I still don't want it to be my primary OS on here.

    jW
     
  12. macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #12
    Installed on 2008 Mac Pro, no problems.
    Installed on 2010 MacBook Pro (which I use more often), no problems so far either, except iCal won't quit...
     
  13. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    #13
    +1
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    #14
    Change the info.plist in your dropbox-application to version 2.0 and Dropbox works just fine: details are here
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    mrblack927

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    #15
    I've got it installed and running on my primary laptop and have no issues. I have a desktop running SL as a fallback in case something that I need isn't compatible but honestly, I don't foresee it being a problem. Apple is the type of company that doesn't release low-quality stuff, even if it is an early beta. :)
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Location:
    Ireland
    #16
    Ditto'd, there is one small encoding program that doesn't work and my other machine running snow leopard is doing that task. Only used once a week (literally)
     
  17. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #17
    Nice. I wonder if there's a similar trick to get safari to work with 1password.
     
  18. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    #18
    Running on a partition on my 2010 macbook pro no problem
     
  19. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #19
    BTW, I have it on an external and I've noticed that the finder and spotlight will hang occasionally when trying to access my internal SSD. What happens is that the Finder will actually "eject" the drive. Anyone else?

    Definitely gives me pause about installing it on the SSD as the primary OS.
     
  20. stainlessliquid, Feb 25, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2011

    macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    #20
    Seems to run well, I am struggling with the touchpad gestures though, pinching is buggy and hard to do so having to unpinch with 4 fingers to see the desktop sucks, I liked being able to set that to swipe-up. I also desperately want ALL-windows expose back, the "show apps" expose function is useless. I havent used it much but even VMware Windows 7 works.

    Anyone know if you can customize the expose swipes?

    What is with all the grey icons? I have to actually look for what I want now. This is terrible UI design, color allowed me to auto-pilot to icons Im familiar with, now they are all identical so you have to actually hunt for the icon you need. For instance it was really easy to pick out the desktop icon in a drop down list since it was the purple square, now its a grey square among other grey squares.
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    #21
    You'd be surprised. I was running Leopard beta back in the day, and Mail just would not work. It crashed one day, and every time I tried to bring it back up after that would result in me having to force shut down the entire computer. Betas are betas. They're not meant to be perfect.
     
  22. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    #22
    I installed it onto a partitioned external hard drive. I am running my primary machine off of it now!

    That way I could do a clean install, without losing or risking any of my files! And it works a dream!
     
  23. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    #23
    Guys, I am trying to install 10.7 through VMWare Fusion on my MacBook and it is stuck at the grey boot screen for 20 minutes so far. I think there is a problem, can you help me?

    Thanks
     
  24. macrumors 6502

    antmarobel

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Location:
    Brasília
    #24
    Installed over SL. Looks great! but some applications does not work...
     
  25. macrumors 68040

    Phil A.

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Telford, UK
    #25
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 4: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8F5166b Safari/6533.18.5)

    It doesn't work in Fusion (as you've found...)
     

Share This Page