Are you upgrading your new iMac to 32GB?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jDW194, Jan 12, 2013.

  1. jDW194, Jan 12, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2013

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #1
    If so what are you doing with your shipped 8gb (2x4)

    It sounds like a lot of you are maxing the RAM ASAP, well I am guessing, because I am one of them, there are a few folks that would be happy with just 16gb, and may be looking to buy surplus and original 2x4gb chip sets.

    :rolleyes:
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Location:
    Germany
    #2
    I will sell my org. 2x4 Ram on ebay. Normaly i would say you can get my set but germany to australia is a long way and shiping takes a long time. i know it cause my girlfriends grandma live in Adelaide an we send her every months a little package that make she very happy :)
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    turtlez

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    #3
    I ordered 16GB from OWC and will keep the stock 8GB for 24GB. If I need more I will replace the stock with another 16GB from OWC to make 32GB.

    I will use the RAM for photoshop (up to 13000 x 8000 ), after effects, cinema 4d, modo, final cut pro/premier, indesign, corel painter.

    I think the only thing that would exceed 24 out of that list is cinema4d, AE and Final cut pro/premiere.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #4
    Can I suggest that when anyone sells there shipped 8 gb ram on eBay can the put a code word in the title or description making it easy for any forum members to find

    I suggest 'SHMACRAM'
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #5
    I will be transferring the 8GB DDR3-1600 to my MacBookPro7,1 Mid-2010 13" Core 2 Duo (P8800) whose min. RAM speed is DDR3-1066.

    Hopefully it boots!

    If I can find (2x8GB) 16GB DDR3-1066 I will be selling my 8GB DDR3-1600. :)
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    My dad wants to get an imac now, so i'll probably donate it to him :)
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    #7
    Most probably 99% of the users will never need 32Gb, and would probably neither use 24Gb.

    So there is not a reason for buying 32Gb and selling 8Gb. Just buy 16 extra, and with 24 you'll be more than happy.
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Location:
    Germany
    #8
    The 8GB from the iMac will march into the 15" MBP (2012) of my girlfriend... if I will ever get it. :rolleyes:
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    #9
    I stuck another 8 GB in on the day my 27" arrived for a total of 16 GB and I while running OS X the sum total of page outs I've had since first running the machine is zero. In other words, even with a VM running (and allocating it a giant chunk of RAM) I'm simply not bumping up against the RAM ceiling and I consider myself a pretty heavy user.

    For the price I paid for 2x 4 GB sticks to add to this beast, I am more than overdoing it and it cost me about £20.

    Sure 32 GB is great, but for considerably less than the cost of 4x 8 GB you are giving yourself more than enough headroom. If you really need 32 GB then you already know it.
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Location:
    Denmark
    #10
    Doesn't work on a Mid-2009, but fingers crossed for you!
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    #11
    I've ordered 32 GB. I guess I could settle with the 8 stock + 16, but one of my life mottos is "You can never have too much RAM". And given the RAM price these days, it was a non-question.

    I'm getting a semi-new computer from work (13" MBP), depending on whether that new one can handle the memory, I'll just put it in there. Otherwise I'll just sell it on the Swedish equivalent to Ebay.
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #12
    MacBookPro5,1 Early 2009 15" Core 2 Duo (T9550) accepts DDR3-1333 even if it is spec'd to DDR3-1066.

    Perhaps I will be lucky that my MacBookPro7,1 Mid-2010 13" Core 2 Duo (P8800) spec'd for DDR3-1066 will find it in its cold cold heart to accept DDR3-1600. :rolleyes:
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    #13
  14. drambuie, Jan 13, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2013

    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #14
    That is not original Apple memory. The OEM Apple RAM uses Hynix chips. Check the modules in your iMac. My new 2012 iMac has Hynix chips, as does my 2010 15" MBP. The Kingston KTA-MB1600/8G 8GB SODIMMS with Hynix chips are the same as the OEM Apple modules. As a matter of interest, Kingston manufactures memory modules for Apple. Samsung chips are used in the Apple SSDs.

    However, the RAM you mention will most likely be 100% compatible, so if that's your choice, go for it.
     
  15. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    #15
    Macram direct shipped me Hynix chips... so it sounds like I got exactly what Apple would have shipped me
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Location:
    Germany
    #16
    Hi, i have Kingston KTA-MB1600/8G 8GB SODIMMS here and they are labeled by Elpida unfortunately not by Hynix but original Apple RAM comes from Hynix that's right.
     
  17. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Location:
    NYC
    #17
    i went with the ram recommended by crucial, so hopefully it'll make it here either just before or around the same time the imac comes. although i know i'll NEVER use the 32gb of ram it will be nice to at least have it there.
     
  18. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #18
    I installed a couple of Kingston KTA-MB1600/8G SODIMMS in my 2012 27", as they were all I could get locally. The chips were labelled with the Kingston logo, but the chip part numbers were Hynix.
     
  19. macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #19
    Crucial ships super quick (even if using the 5% off + Free Shipping Coupon!). I ordered my first 16gb, and it arrived 4 days after placing order, then I just ordered another 16gb Friday night and got a shipping notice this morning, so should be here Tuesday or Wednesday.

    My computer likely won't arrive until the last week of January, so have my 32GB of RAM, my 512GB SSD USB 3.0 drive, and my 4TB Seagate USB 3.0 drive sitting here patiently awaiting the arrival of the iMac next to the free trackpad Apple sent me as an apology for the delay. :)
     
  20. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Location:
    NYC
    #20
    oh wow! they do ship rather quickly. well i can't wait for it to come. i'm hoping i see movement as there are a lot of other with the same build and order date as me that have shipped.
     

Share This Page