arg, iBook G4 logicboard went south

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by slipper, Sep 30, 2004.

  1. macrumors 68000

    slipper

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    #1
    my logic board went bad! this is the first case i have heard where the logic board on an iBook G4 going bad. its my first experience with applecare so i hope all goes well.

    but anyways heres what happened. i was playing a game of starcraft, a 2v2 game. my partner decides to back-stab. i eventually end up killing my backstabing teammate and i demolish the other 2 guys bases, im about to take the win, AND I GET A KERNAL PANIC! AHHH!!! so i restart and the computer is working very sluggishly. i think nothing of it so i put it to sleep andi put myself to sleep for the night. the next morning upon waking the ibook up the screen appears to not wake up, then a white haze starts appearing. crap! i restart, same thing. i restart again and i zap the PRAM. now i have color on the screen but its a bunch of color lines going vertical on the screen. sounds like logic board?

    :( im typing this on a dell at the office, why did god have to punish me this way! :(
     
  2. macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    Old York
    #2
    what gen ibook do you have?, the very first few had week logic boards.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68000

    slipper

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    #3
    its the G4 800Mhz iBook, i purchased it approx december/january.
     
  4. macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    Old York
    #4
    consider your replacement board solid the first 800MHz ones were dodgy but all apple's replacement boards dont have the glitch
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68000

    slipper

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    Canada, GMA
    #6
    tell u what

    I had my iBook G4 800's LB changed twice and, next week it's going for its 3rd one since this one does not go to sleep.

    I hope that I get the 1Ghz since that one is built-in 256MB of Ram
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 68000

    slipper

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
  8. macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #8
    I'd say no chance. Or maybe a 1 in 1000 kind of shot, like if they happen to be out of logic boards for your computer... don't count on it. Sorry.
     

Share This Page