As a college student who knows nothing about buying cars...

Discussion in 'Community' started by Demon Hunter, Mar 24, 2005.

1. Demon Hunter macrumors 68020

Once again I bow before my elders on MR. :)

I'm a college freshman and my car is getting... well... old. Don't get me wrong, I LOVE it. It's a red 1992 Jetta 5-speed with a moon-roof and cassette deck. I mean this thing is retro.

Maybe this is why I'm in love with the new Ford Mustang Coupe. Normally I would just make it my desktop wallpaper, and move on. But I realized my sister is going to need a car very soon, since she just started driving. What if...?

Basically my question is, how realistic is it for a college student to finance one of these bad boys? Especially since I have no credit to speak of?

They go for about 19-21k with $500 cash back for students...

2. iSaint macrumors 603

iSaint

from a 42 year old that started his mountain of debt at your age:

DO NOT finance anything. You can save enough to buy something to get you through the next few years.

And I'd go back to a VW or Nissan or something foreign. Much higher quality as you have experienced with the VW.

My wife and I are currently attending Financial Peace University . We're going through the process of ridding ourselves of thousands of dollars in debt, accumulated by wanting new things like cars. Now we can't afford things for our kids that we would like to do. But we will in time.

Sorry to rant. The web site above has information for college students as well as just about any age and situation.

p.s. how many miles are on the VW you now have?

3. Demon Hunter thread starter macrumors 68020

Thanks for your insight... I've heard the horror stories, and thankfully I have no credit cards yet.

It has about 104,000 miles.

4. iSaint macrumors 603

iSaint