Ask us Macbook Air Owners Questions?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Cybergypsy, Feb 5, 2008.

  1. macrumors 68040

    Cybergypsy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    Central Florida!
    #1
    This thread is to ask for photos and any questions you have about the Air.
    Myself and other owners will give you as much info as you need to decide if is right for you.
     
  2. macrumors demi-goddess

    Clix Pix

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    8 miles from the Apple Store at Tysons (VA)
    #2
    I will probably be buying a MBA later this week..... I am wondering about the USB port and using a USB hub with it. For instance, when I am traveling I will be taking photographs and then uploading into the MBA via a USB memory card reader. In a hotel where there is no wireless connectivity and where I'll have to use the USB port for ethernet, will I be able to successfully plug in the USB hub and then plug in the ethernet dongle thingy and the memory card reader simultaneously?
     
  3. macrumors 604

    clayj

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Location:
    visiting from downstream
    #3
    Yes. Just make sure that the hub you get is not physically constrained (due to the design of its casing, for example) from being able to plug into the MBA's USB port. Investing in a short USB extension cable is probably a good idea.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #4
    A hub is one answer...

    Whenever I travel, unless I am 100% sure that my hotel has wireless high speed internet in every room, I throw an airport express in my bag. This has been very convenient a number of times, allowing me to have web access anywhere in the room, on a terrace, etc.
     
  5. macrumors demi-goddess

    Clix Pix

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    8 miles from the Apple Store at Tysons (VA)
    #5
    Thank you both! Yes, as it happens I DO have an Airport Express -- that's an excellent idea to take that along to provide my own wireless setup in the room, free up that lone USB port! I had noticed comments in other posts about the probable need for a USB extension cable; guess I'll add that to the shopping list! Does the Apple store carry these or is this something I'll need to get at MicroCenter?
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #6
    +1 Sitting on a beachfront hotel terrace working is far superior to sitting indoors stuck to a cable. Never leave home without an express! :)

    C
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    West Hollywood, CA
    #7
    Can I use bluetooth headphones to listen to music with the computer? I've never used them before and I'm not quite sure how they work.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Cybergypsy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    Central Florida!
    #8
    Yes it connect to any bluetooth item easy....
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    teerexx52

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Location:
    Florida West Coast
    #9
    I just got back from Office Max buying a USB Hub to do similar things to what you have posted. I tried several Bus powered ones and there was not enough power to run two items. I bought a small 4 port powered one this morning that works great with my external portable Hard drive and my ipod
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #10
    I'd buy a cheapy usb hub for now. I bet you after a month or so, some company will make a super portable usb hub that is meant for the mba.
     
  11. macrumors regular

    mctheriot

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    McHenry, IL
    #11
  12. macrumors 68000

    teerexx52

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Location:
    Florida West Coast
    #12
    Where did you get the little USB cable?
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    #13
    Lightroom and MBA

    Any one use Lightroom with their MacBook Air? How is the performance? What about photo tasks in Photoshop?
     
  14. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    #14
    hd video

    how does the MBA handle HD movie trailers? like the ones available for watching through apples trailers site. is it smooth without any jumps or does it glitch with the sound of video at all. i would be very interested to know.
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    #15
    imovie

    has anyone played with imovie in the MBA yet? is it fast?
     
  16. macrumors 604

    clayj

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Location:
    visiting from downstream
    #16
    The 720p trailers run great, very smooth with no hiccups. 1080p trailers are a bit jumpy, but you shouldn't be playing those anyway because they have to be downconverted to show on the MBA's display in the first place.
     
  17. macrumors regular

    rsbell

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Murrieta, CA
    #17
    I do this every time I travel.
     
  18. macrumors regular

    mctheriot

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    McHenry, IL
    #18
    It's actually built into the hub - the cable is hard-wired. It tucks away inside the unit when not in use.

    Mark

     
  19. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    #19
    Wireless Internet alternatives outside the home?

    Is anyone using the Sierra Wireless USBConnect 881 HSUPA USB modem via AT&T with their MBA? (or something similar).

    I need to find a product that can be plugged into the USB port that will give me internet connectivity on-the-go all the time. I've found that Wi-Fi in the U.S. is just not prevalent or consistent enough.

    Thanks!
     
  20. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    PA
    #20
    I am also curious about how imovie runs.
     
  21. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    #21
    Hi all my new AIR is my fav. after the Ibook clamshell but i am haveing a few issues with the new AIR....

    Just got my AIR via apple store INDIA for almost $2400 (Ya i had to pay customs almost $600) anyhow since it was suppose to be an replacement for my old G5 Power Mac i figered that my new AIR could do everything that my old PowerMac could so i gave it to my younger cosin now the problem is that i cant play a lot of game that i used to on my old power mac the list is:-

    Civilization IV works with update
    COD 2 does not work at all even after alll updates
    Roller Coaster Tycoon 3 does not work properly
    Hitman Contracts works quite well
    Colin McRae updated does not work properly
    Need for speed works gr8

    GTA SA works but hangs a bit like its on a 100Mhz processer or some thing BTW i had no updates for this..!! Does anyone have them??

    Now my second problem my usb lacie DVD DRIVE (Not APPLES superdrive mindit does not work it used to work on the powermac)
     
  22. macrumors 68000

    teerexx52

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Location:
    Florida West Coast
    #22
    Thanks
     
  23. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    #23
    Monitor??



    Has anyone had any experience using an external monitor? I run a 22" from my MB now.
     
  24. macrumors 68000

    teerexx52

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Location:
    Florida West Coast
    #24
    Yes, I was just running my 24". No problems
     
  25. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    #25
    It works perfectly with my 20-inch cinema display.
     

Share This Page