Aspyr Ships Civilization IV: Warlords for Macintosh

Discussion in 'MacBytes.com News Discussion' started by MacBytes, Nov 15, 2006.

  1. macrumors bot

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    #1

    [​IMG]

    Category: Games
    Link: Aspyr Ships Civilization IV: Warlords for Macintosh
    Description:: Aspyr announced that Sid Meier's Civilization IV: Warlords has begun shipping in North America for Macintosh. Sid Meier's Civilization IV: Warlords, a Mac OS X Universal application, is licensed from 2K, a Take-Two Interactive Software publishing label, and was developed for Mac by Aspyr Studios.

    Posted on MacBytes.com
    Approved by Mudbug
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    #2
    Time for me to go spend $30 and waste hours of my time. :eek: /:)
     
  3. macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco
  4. macrumors 68020

    mainstreetmark

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Location:
    Saint Augustine, FL
    #4
    OK, I'll ask.

    The game is Universal Binary.

    They ported source code from the intel platform to the mac platform, only to have it recompiled back to intel?

    Or, are games more closely tied to the operating system since I was last involved. Like, is the Mac port really about using OpenGL vs DirectX or something?

    I had half expected that once macs got on Intel, the PC games would make it over to our side quicker.
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    mdntcallr

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2000
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
  6. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #6
    Um, no. There is no "Intel platform"...Intel makes x86 chips, not operating systems. Windows and Intel are two entirely different things.

    They've always been mostly tied to the operating system.

    For now it's slower, because they have to do PPC and x86 testing. Once PPC is dropped, there's about a 10-15% speedup because of not having to convert endian issues. But the vast majority of the porting (from Windows) still has to be done.

    --Eric
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Grakkle

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Location:
    Earth
    #7
    I used to play civ III...finally gave it up because it was using too much time.:eek: It's always a temptation to get back into it though - so addicting!
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    #8
    Multiplayer Option

    Anyone know how to play the multiplayer option on line?

    I can't find any online area that hosts a Civ IV game but I assume there must be one otherwise the game wouldn't be shipped with the option to play online.

    Any ideas? I tried Game Spy but can't find a Mac version.
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    FleurDuMal

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    London Town
    #9
    The Mac version is crap. Incredibly slow. Do yourselves a favour and play it through Bootcamp :(
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    University Heights, OH / Canonsburg, PA
    #10
    I might have to go out and give this a try... the Windows Boot Camp version like posted above works beautifully, but I'd love for it to run natively in OS X. Hopefully we'll see Beyond the Sword soon for :apple:! :cool:
     

Share This Page