Assigning static IPs using Airport Express.

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by Xerov, Apr 1, 2005.

  1. Xerov macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Location:
    Nederland
    #1
    Hey guys,

    I need some help assigning static IPs to the computers on my network when using an airport express wireless router.

    Here if my setup: Cable modem -> Airport express -> WDS -> Another Ariport Express.

    When I go into the configuration all that I can use is DHCP, which Is what I need for the public side, but I need statics on the private side of the network.

    Any help would be greatly appreciatied, I've checked google, but no luck it seems.
     
  2. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #2
    Sorry I can't help you, but if you come across a networking expert who knows about assigning static IP addresses, let me know too. I've got a problem (see thread) nobody has been able to help me with so far.
     
  3. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #3
    If you want your local lan to use static addressing, all you need to do is not have the Airport (Express/Extreme) distribute addresses. You would need to statically configure each machine. Or you can have a range of addresses be static and have the AirPort distribute a small range of addresses for the random machine you plug in.

    What a DHCP server on a system can do that the AirPort cannot do is assign an IP address based on a machines MAC address.
     
  4. Westside guy macrumors 601

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy side of the Pacific NW
    #4
    I'm a little surprised that it's not part of the Apple routers' software. My old 802.11b D-Link wireless router had the ability to assign specific IPs to specific MACs.

    It's not a critical issue, but it would be a nice feature - especially in a mixed-environment home network (Linux, OS X, Windows).
     
  5. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #5
    imho, i think from a tech support view point, they choose not to do static ip's. just a guess though.
     

Share This Page