At-a-glance specs tree for Apple's new Intel-based Mac Pro

Discussion in 'MacBytes.com News Discussion' started by MacBytes, Aug 8, 2006.

  1. macrumors bot

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    #1
  2. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #2
    Nice work. :) Wow, I missed that there are 2x dual-link cards now! :eek: SO they can drive two separate 30" displays at full res?

    The only thing that gets me about the MP configs is a little surprise that Apple did not just go with built-in AE/BT modules and standardize that, and reduce the configuration complexity....
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    #3
    Being someone who has tight limits on spendable money, I'd prefer the wireless things kept optional if it shaves $80-100 off the price. I don't need wireless for a desktop machine, as I'm sure many others do. If Apple included them I'd be thinking: "Why can't I take the wireless stuff out to save myself some money?"

    Edit: And I know $80 doesn't sound like much when it comes to something this expensive.. but if you're saving money for just one of these and don't have a disposable income.. saving everywhere you can counts...
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #4
    Good lord ... How many times does this need to be addressed?!

    There are some Mac shops -- esp. in the gov't -- where radio devices are explicitly prohibited, including the AE/BT module. Additionally, most pros I know never use them on their workstation/production machines.

    The PowerMac (and now Mac Pro) have always been designed to provide you a "base" machine upon which you build a workstation. If you need AE/BT, add it. If you don't, spend your money on more RAM or a bigger HDD.
     
  5. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #5
    Good lord! I'm sorry! :p ;)

    But a hard jumper on the motherboard would take care of that. And the cost is minimal. Honestly, it was just an observation. I could care less, since I have zero interest in ever owning one. I'm just surprised that Intel didn't talk them into bundling the hardware on.

    P.S. I'll promise to never bring this up again if I never have to read another thread about the need for a revised cube or headless iMac to complete the price range gap between the PM / Mac Pro and the consumer machines.... :eek: ;) :D
     
  6. macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #6
    Sweet! Comic Life! ;) (j/k, it's a cool app, just amusing to see it on a pro workstation. And the specs don't list iLife! Can't forget that.)


    That's an interesting subject you raise. I'd be curious what other people think about that. If Apple had a mid-range option with a CHOICE of display and GPU, would it sell well and bring in switchers? Or is this something there's no demand for?

    ;)
     
  7. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #7
    *hands nagromme his goat*

    It would certainly make me switch...to Vista! :p
     
  8. macrumors 603

    aswitcher

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra OZ
    #8
    I am reallylooking forward to the hands on with these machiones.
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    After G

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #9
    Thank goodness someone said this. If you can't save/earn/beg for the $400 difference between a high-end iMac and a low-end Mac Pro, you probably shouldn't get a pro machine.
     
  10. macrumors 68000

    steve_hill4

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Location:
    NG9, England
    #10
    Would that be $400 with or without display? Since the most expensive standard iMac is $1699 and the standard Mac Pro is $2499 without display, that's $800. Using BTO we can get the iMac to cost more than the most basic Mac Pro.

    But let's take your $400 anyway and then add another $699 for a 20" ACD. Suddenly the need for a mid range machine becomes more apparent. If I had an old 20" ACD and wanted something with a similar/slightly better spec to the iMac, but more upgradable, what do I choose? I would potentially prefer to pay $1299 for same specs as the 20" iMac and use my old display than $1699 and end up with a fairly redundant display or have to pay $2499 for something I don't need.

    Also, don't give me dual display explanations. If someone wanted to pay a bit less for a same spec headless iMac, I say Apple would gain more market in letting them do so, (not me however, next purchase is a 20" iMac, I just believe that if enough are crying out for something, it's wise to at least consider it). :)
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Location:
    ohio
    #11
    Am surprised no one has configured a PC to match it and priced it out. But you can't put a price on the user experience, that intangable between you and the computer. I can see it now, a rip-off of those MC card commercials.
    1 Mac Pro $2500
    1 30" monitor $1000 (guessing on cost)
    1 OS Tiger Priceless
     
  12. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #12
    LOL it's a guess, but it's off by a factor of two if you buy Apple. ;)
     
  13. macrumors 68040

    shamino

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Location:
    Purcellville, VA
    #13
    This has always been possible.

    Back when the 30" display was first introduced, the matching card (GeForce 6800 Ultra) supported two such displays.

    Ever since then, there has always been at least one BTO option for this.

    It is, of course, rather nice that there are now two options for people who have this requirement, and one of them (the Radeon X1900) isn't prohibitively expensive.
     
  14. macrumors 68040

    shamino

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Location:
    Purcellville, VA
    #14
    You must've missed it. On the top of the rightmost column:
    Software
    • Mac OS X v10.4 Tiger (includes Spotlight, Dashboard, Mail, iChat AV, Safari, QuickTime, iCal, and other software)
    • Universal iLife ’06 (includes iTunes, iPhoto, iMovie HD, iDVD, iWeb, GarageBand)
    • Comic Life
    • Omni Outliner
    • Microsoft Office 2004 for Mac Test Drive, iWork ’06 (30-day trial), FileMaker Pro 8.5 trial
    Unfortunately, it appears that Graphic Converter and Omni Graffle are no longer bundled.
     
  15. macrumors 68040

    shamino

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Location:
    Purcellville, VA
    #15
    A base-model Mac Pro (2GHz and 160G hard drive) costs $2124. Unlike previous Macs, the standard model is not the least expensive. So the price difference we're looking at is $425, which is pretty close to what After G posted.

    And while you can't get a 20" widescreen LCD with 1680x1050 for $425, you can get several (non-Apple) models for $450-500. Some (like the Dell 2007FPW, that currently sells for $459) are just as high quality as Apple's product.
     

Share This Page