AT&T Doesn't Support the Mac

Discussion in 'MacBytes.com News Discussion' started by MacBytes, Nov 3, 2008.

  1. macrumors bot

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    15,835
    #1

    [​IMG]

    Category: News and Press Releases
    Link: AT&T Doesn't Support the Mac
    Description:: Website to encourage Mac users to email AT%T president Ralph de la Vega to complain about the fact that their free wi-fi is unavailable to Mac laptop users.

    Posted on MacBytes.com
    Approved by Mudbug
     
  2. Administrator emeritus

    Mudbug

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,807
    Location:
    North Central Colorado
    #2
    99% of the time I won't link to blogs because the content is often questionable at best, but this seemed interesting to me. Why would Apple partner with AT&T on the iPhone if AT&T isn't willing to support Apple's other computer efforts?
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    gilkisson

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,066
    Location:
    Myrtle Beach, Horry County (do not pronounce the "
    #3
    AT&T is being wrong, obtuse, and pig-headed, for not supporting Macs.

    Just like Apple is being equally pig-headed for refusing to support iTunes/iPhone on any version of Linux.
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    #4

    You can use your macbook pro as long as you use safari and click on the develop menu and use the 1.1.3 iphone browser. it works i tried it
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2001
    Messages:
    397
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #5
    Wouldn't that be more Microsoft's style than Apple's?
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    #6
    I don't get it. I just went to Starbucks today and used their ATT hotspot. It worked just fine for me. I was using Safari on my white MacBook. I don't really understand what the issue is.
     
  7. TEG
    macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    6,542
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #7
    People don't understand that the free wi-fi is only supposed to be for use on the iPhone, not the computer. However, enabling the Developer menu in Safari, allows you to trick the system into thinking your computer is an iPhone.

    TEG
     
  8. macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    6,765
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #8
    Lol I didn't even know about the develop menu. That is, until I saw this thread. But AT&T not supporting macs is kinda of stupid.
     
  9. macrumors 601

    BornAgainMac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    4,730
    Location:
    Florida Resident
    #9
    The keyword is support. Mac users don't really need that kind of hand holding anyways.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    bassproguy07

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    704
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    #10
    sorry this is off topic, but mudbug seeing you name makes me want some crawfish!! I'm a little confused, are we just asking for wifi with an access card or free because it's a mac??
     
  11. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    #11
    ?

    How do you do this? I have a macbook and iphone, will it still work? If so, how do i do it?
     
  12. macrumors 68000

    Porco

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,629
    #12
    Apple doesn't support the iPhone on other phone networks, which sucks more.
     

Share This Page