AT&T iPad Sim card in iPhone

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by reclusive46, Apr 5, 2012.

  1. reclusive46
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    reclusive46

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Location:
    England
    #1
    Hi guys,
    I'll be in the US and I was wondering can I just activate an AT&T iPad sim card in an iPad with data and then just use it in my iPhone? (My phone is unlocked)
     
  2. reclusive46
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 65816

    reclusive46

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Location:
    England
  3. antman2295
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    #3
    You can use an iPad sim card in an iPhone, but you cannot just have data on the phone. At&t will scan the information and will either notify you that you need a voice plan, or will automatically add a plan.

    ----------

    Oh, check out this thread, I could be misinformed.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1261808
     
  4. bwrairen
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #4
    Yep....you're wrong. I had an iPhone 4 with an iPad sim in it for almost a year. No problems at all.
     
  5. reclusive46
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 65816

    reclusive46

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Location:
    England
    #5
    Ah thats cool. Much cheaper option that paying 69 usd with calling that I won't use.
     
  6. Applejuiced
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
    I heard about people getting caught by AT&T doing that and having their account shut off.
    Its doable but it comes with a risk.
     
  7. aneftp
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    #7
    Wyou are getting confused. And mixed up.

    AT&T wil audit customers using the sim from their phone and putting it in a tablet (any tablet device including iPad for data). If they audit u AT&T will disable the data on your iPhone data plan for a month and tell u not to do it again.

    But the other way around works (iPad sim to iPhone for data). You just won't get voice.
     
  8. Applejuiced
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    Oh I see.
    I thought they didn't allow any kind of sim swapping.
     
  9. antman2295
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    #9
    But did it have Data only? I know you can use an iPad simcard in the 4/4S, because my mom's phone has one.
     
  10. bwrairen
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #10
    Of course it had data only.
     
  11. tgcken
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    #11
    Would it be possible to set up a data plan for iPad without owning an iPad?

    (I would like to request a replacement microSim for ipad, start a $15/m plan and use it on my iphone instead of ipad.)
     
  12. Munchiemonster
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Munchiemonster

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    #12


    My ipad SIM card is in a spare iPhone right now. I pay $15 for 340mb per month. And Guess what? It has voice. Only it's 75 cents per minute.
    Even ipad plans have voice and the iPad has a phone number too. It sounds strange but its phone number is listed right under settings. Calls are insanely expensive and texts are charged for as well.
     
  13. A1Yola
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    #13
    Just tried to put an iPad sim into a 4s, it said I needed to activate the phone, then it said the sim wasn't supported. My phone is prepaid Virgin mobile
     
  14. Applejuiced
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #14
    That's because your iphone is VM CDMA locked iphone.
    If it was an AT&T iphone it would have worked.
     
  15. andrey226
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    #15
    Hi guys,

    I'm going to be travelling to the Lake Tahoe area in about a week, and I was wondering if it's possible to pick up these iPad data sim cards if I'm not a resident of the US? I'm coming from Canada and I want data on my iPhone 5, so I was thinking of activating one of these on my iPad and then popping it into the unlocked phone. Can anyone confirm if this still works? The ATT website won't let me get to the checkout step unless I choose a device, which I don't need.
     
  16. Baggio
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    #16
    I just recently tried putting my iPad 1's AT&T 3G SIM in an AT&T IMEI unlocked iPhone 4 and it didn't work. It showed signal, but data didn't work. Maybe because that iPad was on my Mobile Share plan and there is a different price for iPad($10) vs an iPhone ($30)????
     
  17. willpower101
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    #17
    Apn settings.

    Unlockit.co.nz or manually.

    [​IMG]

    Can you provide proof?

    I've had 3 ipad sims in 3 different iphones over the 4 year life of my unlimited plan. None of them got voice.
     
  18. Baggio
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    #18
    Damn, my post is a year old. Lol. Yeah, I figured out the APN setting long ago. Thanks!
     
  19. willpower101
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    #19
    Whoop! My bad.

    I really would LOVE to have pay-per-minute voice on my ipad sim. But I don't think that's happening unless that dude can provide some more info
     
  20. andrestb
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    #20
    HELLO LADS - listen...... I have iPad Air 2 and have an extra Apple SIM - activated it under T-Mobile and it WORKS on my iPhone 5. The new development is that you can sign up for any data plan OR enjoy the free T-Mobile 200mb option "for life" .... so yes, the new development is that Google Hangouts (with Google Voice Number) can be used under the data, and at 35mb per HOUR VOICE CALLS in Hangouts gives you around 400 minutes FREE CALLS for the 200mb free plan - what's apps, iMessages & Hangouts SMS are KB's and can send loads for FREE...... Google Hangouts in iOS for both iPad and iPhone is a much better experience than that of ANDROID...... can you believe it!!!! so there.... that's the update on this thread..... this has been possible since Hangouts launch in March 2015..... so everyone is 1 year late to the party!!!!
    --- Post Merged, Mar 24, 2016 ---
    one more thing... the quality of the voice calls in hangouts is better than any cell phone network as cell phone network calls uses legacy tech from the 80's.... the carriers have not upgraded to LTE properly (data voice, which was promised) and the codec used by hangouts leads to HD quality voice.... which is the same codec as the super expensive CISCO IP phones in everyone's office desks ....... happy calling!!!!! if you need an Apple SIM, pop over to an Apple Store, pay 5 bux, activate it in somebody's iPad AIR 2..... then swap it to your old iPhone 5's gathering dust..... and voila !!!
     
  21. thitchen
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2016
    #21
    Hi andrestb,

    Can you use t-mobile sim card from ipad on an iphone? Mine seems blocked by t-mobile. The iphone cannot connect to LTE at all with that sim card. Thank you.



     
  22. andrestb
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    #22
    Yea you can.... just get a phone number using hangouts from google ...... even if you get the apple sim 5 gigs for 5 months sample..... put the apple sim in the iPhone and data and hangouts phone calls works.... the apple sim will not work on an iPhone on the free 200mb / month deal.... but if you activate the monthly charge it WILL work

    .....
     
  23. Channan
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Channan

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #23
    Not sure if anything has changed or if certain iPad plans are just different, but I know the old $30 iPad unlimited data plan works fine in an iPhone, but the new tablet unlimited data plan does not.

    I tried putting my iPad's SIM card with unlimited data on AT&T in multiple phones and it doesn't work.
     
  24. Ethingnow
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    #24
    Has anyone gotten an iPad data AT&T 30 bucks a month unlimited data to work in there cell phones? And does AT&T cancel plan if the find out? And has anyone been caught
     
  25. imlynxy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    #25
    you can, just need to download profile on your iphone. Unlockit.co.nz
     

Share This Page