AT&T - No Visual Voicemail?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by forty2j, Sep 26, 2012.

  1. macrumors 68030

    forty2j

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #1
    Grandfathered unlimited. My data plan is now showing as:
    Data Unlimited for iPhone on 4G LTE without Visual Voicemail

    Anyone seen this before? How/why would they not give me Visual Voicemail?
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    #2
    call and have them add it for you
     
  3. macrumors G3

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #3
    I think that is a glitch in their system. Do you already have the phone? If not, wait until you get it to see if it has visual voicemail.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    randy98mtu

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #4
    Mine got turned off in my upgrade swap. They actually turned off my mailbox completely. They turned it back on, then when I tested it they didn't give me visual, just a regular mailbox. So when she called back to confirm it was working I said I wanted visual voicemail. She wasn't totally sure what code to use for that, but she looked at my wife's account and got it setup.
     
  5. macrumors 601

    OneMike

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    #5
    call, when I first got my 5 visual voicemail was not working either. I didn't come directly from another iPhone. A lot of things were messed up on my account. Actually some still are.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 68030

    forty2j

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #6
    I've had the phone since Friday. I think I lost my visual voicemail overnight; I also got a couple "welcome back" emails from them.

    I'm having trouble understanding why a data plan specifically for iPhone w/o VV would exist.
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    #7
    They have a plan without visual voicemail and one with Visual Voicmail
     
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    #8
    Lost voicemail on the upgrade swap to the 5.

    Received a voicemail (I guess, although I had no way of knowing at the time) and the phone popped up with "enter password for voicemail". I cancelled that, but went into Settings, Phone and attempted to change the password. When I did, it had me enter the old password, then new password. Then suddenly a new voicemail appeared.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 68030

    forty2j

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #9
    Ok, called them. They changed me from
    "Data Unlimited for iPhone on 4G LTE without Visual Voicemail"

    to

    "Data Unlimited for iPhone"

    So now I'm concerned that I won't have LTE.. can't test that from home, need to go about 10 miles north or so to get LTE coverage.

    ----------

    I didn't see an option for this under Settings->Phone.
     
  10. macrumors G3

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #10
    That is what mine did the first time I got a new voicemail. It made me enter the VM password. We did not lose it, it is just a security feature for when you backup. The same way all of your apps, email, and social media need the password re-entered.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 68030

    forty2j

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #11
    Crisis averted. My rate plan on the website shows "Data Unlimited for iPhone on 4G LTE".

    Very curious that they made up a non-VV plan and made that the default, though.
     
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    #12
    Every time we have gotten new iPhones VV does not work until you put in your voice mail box password. This is for security.

    As for the unlimited plan. When I check our account my wife's iPhone 5 says unlimited LTE and mine says unlimited iPhone. So I have no idea what's up, but I still have LTE service and data. I'm sure it's a glitch in the system. I had something similar happen with my text plan when I upgraded to the iPhone 4. After a few weeks I could not send picture messages but my wife could. Are message plans had different wording. I called and they switched it and was fine after that. I'm not calling unless something happens.
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #13
    You are right. However, what people are talking about here is when you go to the voicemail tab in the phone app, instead of asking for your password, it dials voicemail like its a flip phone from 2005.

    I had this as well and when I called AT&T my account was correct already, so the rep called and left me a voicemail and then it popped up asking me for my password.
     
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    #14
    Yes, I called my phone and left a test message for it to ask for my password. When you first do it it goes to the dial up voicemail. I had to do this on both of my iPhone 5's and iPhone 4's.:)
     
  15. topoftheclass13, Sep 28, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2012

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    #15
    Called ATT because my visual voicemail isn't working. Nobody knew how to fix it!

    I try to save a greeting and it freezes, i have the correct passwords thats not the issue. The rest of the phone works fine but this which leads me to believe its something on crappy ATT's end.


    Anyone have any suggestions

    ----------

    Also when I go to settings and try to save a new voicemail password it just keeps loading when trying to save the password. Very frustrating I almost just want to go back to my damn 3gs. Apparently my friend on another network is having the same issue. Apple is claiming a carrier issue but if all of us are having the issues could it be an apple software issue?
     
  16. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    #16
    I am having the same exact issue as you with my new iPhone 5. Can't set the voicemail up what so ever.
     
  17. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    CA
    #17
    Use Google Voice. Free visual voicemail, can be accessed from your phone (or anywhere by logging in to voice.google.com), and doesn't depend on your carrier or device
     

Share This Page