AT&T Seems to Be Extending FaceTime-Over-Cellular to All Customers

Discussion in 'MacRumors.com News Discussion' started by MacRumors, Nov 20, 2012.

  1. macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]


    AT&T appears to be quietly extending FaceTime-Over-Cellular capabilities to all their iPhone customers. Earlier this month, AT&T announced that they would allow any customer "with an LTE device" on a "tiered data plan" to use iOS 6's FaceTime over Cellular feature.

    This, however, excluded a number of customers, including those with grandfathered unlimited data plans as well as those with the iPhones 4S. (Note, iOS 6, itself, can only supports FaceTime-over-Cellular on the 4S, 5 and iPad 3rd Gen or higher)

    [​IMG]
    Tonight, Forum user kre62 noticed that both his iPhone 4S and iPhone 5 with unlimited AT&T data plans now support FaceTime over cellular.
    This finding has been confirmed by a number of users in this discussion thread -- though some users have been unable to activate it so it may still be rolling out to some areas. AT&T had said the original rollout for tiered plans could take 8-10 weeks. Most of the positive responses have been those with the iPhone 5 and grandfathered unlimited data, but the original poster also had luck with an iPhone 4S.

    Some users have had to completely restart their phones for the service to go into effect. There still remains a possibility that this is an oversight on AT&T's part. We are reaching out to AT&T for clarification on their policy.

    Article Link: AT&T Seems to Be Extending FaceTime-Over-Cellular to All Customers
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    SamGabbay

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    #2
    Works for me! Looks like AT&T is coming around just in time for the holidays.

    Thanks AT&T... for this early Hanukkah present.

    __________________
    "Sometimes we do things, and then other things happen. Why? I'll let you know." - Me
     
  3. macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #3
    How generous...
     
  4. sazivad, Nov 20, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2012

    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #4
    It only took them this long to get on par with the other carriers.
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #5
    Still not working

    I have a 4S with unlimited data on ATT. I restarted the phone and it still says I need to call ATT.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    SamGabbay

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    #6
    Where are you located? Most NYC customers are reporting success.
     
  7. ckelley, Nov 20, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2012

    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #7
    Still saying that I need to contact AT&T to activate this feature.

    *sigh*

    C'mon, Sprint, turn on LTE here in Austin so I can drop AT&T like a bad habit.

    Edit: iPhone 4S with grandfathered Unlimited data plan.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #8
    No luck here. iPhone 5 w/ unlimited.
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #9
    Colorado
     
  10. ideal.dreams, Nov 20, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2012

    macrumors 68000

    ideal.dreams

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    OH
    #10
    So happy to hear this! Still tells me to call AT&T when I try to turn on FaceTime over cellular though. My area doesn't even have LTE so I imagine it'll take a while before I see it.

    Edit: Rebooted my phone. When I went back in to settings, FaceTime over cellular was checked! Very pleased, AT&T. It's about time!

    Edit 2: Scratch that. Just checked it again and it's unchecked and still tells me to call AT&T.
     
  11. macrumors regular

    bluedukies8

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Location:
    Iowa
    #11
    Confirmed for me. iPhone 5 with grandfathered unlimited plan. Just restarted my phone after seeing this article. :D
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Justinb51

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #12
    No luck as well, iphone 5 unlimited. Even tried the restart. I'm in Indianapolis.

    ----------

    When you restarted, was the switch turned on or did you have to turn it on?
     
  13. theelysium, Nov 20, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2012

    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    #13
    Not for me!

    Correction!

    I had to hard reset.. Home & lock.. Now it works! **** Yea!

    After testing for a few days I have discovered not all the towers work. I think it's only on our new LTE towers, but I could be wrong... Idk!

    I also found that FT over an AT&T Micro Cell now works. It did not work before. At my house the tower will not allow FT, but my M-Cell does!

    I'm in Sacramento, CA
     
  14. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    #14
    Thanks. Can we get free tethering now?
     
  15. macrumors 68000

    kockgunner

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    #15
    I always think Canadian carriers are behind the curve, but I have a 6GB plan and I have gotten Facetime over cellular since iOS 6. We've also been getting tethering for free. :eek: Those 3 year plans are what get us.
     
  16. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    Cox's Creek, KY
    #16
    No dice, restarted my phone and nothing. The switch was actually enabled for like 2 seconds then it switched off.
     
  17. macrumors regular

    bluedukies8

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Location:
    Iowa
    #17
    I restarted and went straight into the settings. Once I did that it gave me a message about FaceTime.....don't remember exact wording, but clicked ok and it turned it on for me. Signed in with my Apple ID and all is good!

    Located in Des Moines, IA in case anyone wants to know.
     
  18. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    #18
    Not working for me

    Still not working for me either. I'm in st louis. I have an iphone 5 with unlimited.
     
  19. Ozy
    macrumors regular

    Ozy

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Goodyear, AZ
    #19
    No go on my iPhone 5 in Phoenix, AZ area. Grandfathered Unlimited
     
  20. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    #20
    So, how long until we get a VoiceTime? As in FaceTime but without the video, meaning voice over data. Any predictions?
     
  21. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Location:
    SFO, JFK
    #21
    FaceTime works on iPad mini with my grandfathered unlimited session-based tablet data plan now, too!
     
  22. arn
    macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #22
  23. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #23
    Success! iPhone 5 in NYC with unlimited data plan :)
     
  24. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    Palo Alto, CA
    #24
    iPhone 4 says no!

    Facetime Faied "Connect to a Wi-Fi network to use FaceTime".
    iPhone4 running 5.1.1. Palo Alto, CA
     
  25. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    #25
    Not working here in Los Angeles

    Just tried it, doesn't work. Rebooted my 4S still get the blue screen telling me to change the data plan...
     

Share This Page