AT&T's U-verse iPhone Application Appears in App Store

Discussion in 'iOS Blog Discussion' started by MacRumors, Jun 18, 2009.

  1. macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]

    AT&T Mobile Remote Access [App Store, Free], a new iPhone application for controlling the DVR component of AT&T's U-verse communications and entertainment system, has appeared in the App Store. The new application offers a number of features for remotely searching guide information and scheduling the DVR component of the U-verse TV service.

    Rumors of a more full-featured U-verse iPhone app surfaced last September, with a report from an AT&T insider earlier this year also detailing a forthcoming iPhone app to control U-verse's TV component. The released version, however, does not provide the ability to control DVR playback as the previous rumors suggested, instead focusing solely on searching and scheduling functions.

    Article Link: AT&T's U-verse iPhone Application Appears in App Store
     
  2. macrumors regular

    bombboy

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    SoFla
    #2
    This is great, downloading now! I had the DVR website clipped on my springboard but it was very bare boned as it was a mobile page and not a web app so I barely used it, always resorted to going to a computer to program it. Let's see what they did here. :D

    Edit: It's very very nice!
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    #3
    /agree

    it's way better than the web interface. Been waiting for this app for awhile. I don't really care for controlling actual playback since I rather just use the provided remote controller. :p
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    nickXedge

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    Long Island
    #4
    I'm not at all familiar with this U-Verse service provided by AT&T. You have to have an AT&T DVR or something? This doesn't work with Cablevision does it?
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #5
    Well its ABOUT D*MN TIME! Why is AT&T so slow to the game with obvious apps?
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #6
    U-verse is AT&T's attempt to go up against Verizon FiOS. It's not true cable television and it is not satellite. It is television over IP.

    Thus, no, it will not work with Cablevision.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    #7
    UVerse is AT&T's dsl-ish service where EVERYTHING (phone, internet, tv) is delivered over a high speed internet link. It's similar to FIOS but instead of fiber to the house it's fiber to the street (or wherever the box is). Then copper is run from the box to the house.

    Everything, including your receiver, which can be a DVR, has an IP address and is internet enabled. Thus it can be programmed over the internet. Prior to this app you could go to a website and setup shows you want to record, manage recordings, etc. This is the native iphone app that does the same thing.

    That will be sweet when/if you can use it to remote control the dvr playback. I sit kinda far away from the tv and it's hard to read the screen.
     
  8. macrumors member

    deboni

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    #8
    No UVerse in Oakland, CA

    It would be nice if AT&T would listen to the pile of potential subscribers in my city and deploy their UVerse service here. I live in a neighborhood close to downtown, and can't get it. I've been asking for it for years, as an alternative to Comcast, but to no avail.

    Yes, AT&T, I'm talking to YOU. If you feel you have too many customers, you've come up with a solid solution to the problem.

    Tom in Oakland
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    #9
    My mom lives in the same condo complex as I do, same address, except for unit number. She installed U-Verse 4 months ago, with a 2 month wait before it was installed. Yet, ATT's website still shows the service is not available even at her address. So you might call if the online service shows not available in your area, as it may be wrong, even 4+ months out of date. Like where I am.

    I'm tempted to try it out, but I can't build a plan online to see what it costs with the darn $10 HD fee, plus $7 each for the extra two tvs, etc.
     
  10. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Location:
    Brunswick, MD
    #10
    Weird....

    I just downloaded this and tried it. It saves my AT&T login and password ok, but keeps giving me XML parser errors and won't show any listings!


     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    mikeinternet

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Location:
    Oaklnad, CA
    #11
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_0 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7A341 Safari/528.16)

    Works for us in Oakland. (near lake merritt) I would check with AT&T again as they are supposedly spreading it out.
    That being said, we're not very happy with it.
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    #12
    Not really working!

    im having the same issue,and its really slow.looks like they already need an update!:mad:
     
  13. macrumors regular

    dohspc

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    #13
    Most definitely better than trying to use the yahoo web app on the iPhone. I wish they had the video streaming already oh well I'm sure it will come later.
     
  14. macrumors member

    oneals2focus

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #14
    I agree! I have been waiting on this for a while!
     
  15. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon Coast
    #15
    I'll have to try this out. I just moved to California and signed up for U-verse.
     
  16. macrumors regular

    dagger55

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #16
    The UI could lose a lot of work. It does not have that elegant iphone feel to it
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    mikeinternet

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Location:
    Oaklnad, CA
    #17
    Works great here. Otherwise u-verse isn't so hot though.

    How about built in "sling-like" functionality AT&T?
     
  18. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon Coast
    #18
    I keep getting error code 5. Fail.:(
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #19
    I'm having a house built and have the option to get U-Verse. Those of you who have it currently, did you switch from DirecTV? Right now, I have AT&T for phone/DSL(which is fiber-to-the-node in my area) and DirecTV for satellite. I love DirecTV, the channels are great and the DVR works good.

    Have you found U-Verse to be a good upgrade? Especially in the HD area? I refuse to do Comcast because of their crap HD lineup.
     
  20. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    Deployed atm
    #20
    i heard some bad things about this one.
     
  21. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon Coast
    #21
    Coming from a great experience with FiOS in the East to U-verse in the West, I have been pleased for the few weeks I've had it. The picture quality is superb as are the channel offerings. I have 6 Mbps internet and the U-200 package which includes DVR for about $109/month.
     
  22. macrumors member

    oneals2focus

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #22
    It's good, I have the U450 Double Pack witch is up to 360 channels including over 95 HD channels, HBO®, Cinemax®, the Sports Package, and the Movie Package. I pay $109 + DSL Elite - Up to 6.0 Mbps downstream witch is $35 + the HD Premium Tier witch includes 4 HD channels (Universal HD, MGM HD, Smithsonian HD and Palladia) witch is $5 and you get a 10 discount for the double pack. All together $139 a month. The HD picture quality is not the best but is good compared to the SD channels. And if you get U-Verse order it online so you get the bigger rebate!
    :cool:
     
  23. macrumors 6502

    geekmommy4

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #23
    I got errors using this app last night and early this morning. It's working now, though! This is great!
     
  24. macrumors regular

    macabouttobe

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #24
    I've had Uverse for about 4 months now. Love it. Switched from Charter cable where I was getting financially raked..

    There is definitely a lag between their physical buildout and their database. My neighbors on both sides of me were having it installed so I naturally checked for availablity and it showed unavailable. I called their number and explained the situation. They said there are situations where there may be a home or two that are just too far from the fiber for the signal to reach, but they would check on availability. A week later it was confirmed it was available and I could place an order.

    The automated emails I signed up for to tell me when Uverse was available probably 10 months ago just started arriving last month. So there is definitely a lag.. Going to download the app tonight on my wife's iphone.
     
  25. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    #25
    Since first getting this app a lot of the channels don't show up in the guide. Tried logging out and back in, deleting the app and reinstalling it. Also I've gotten burned by it a couple times where I thought something was set to record and it really wasn't :/

    Aside from that uverse itself is nice :)
     

Share This Page