"Atari" starts with "A", too...

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by blakespot, Feb 28, 2007.

  1. blakespot Administrator

    blakespot

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2000
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA
    #1
    Not an Apple, but I wanted to share some just-taken pics.

    [​IMG]
    ( click for gallery )

    Atari 520ST system I just setup, in the rare A520 STation stand. Set it all up last night. I owned a nearly identical setup in 1986-87.

    Sadly, screen cracked in shipping - working out purchase of 2nd one w/ a seller at the moment.



    blakespot
     
  2. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #2
    Cool. I had the 1040STe in 1990 it was my first computer (i was 10).

    I used it for games and it had some of the most playable games ever.

    Microprose had some of the best games too. F-19 stealth fighter, Grand Prix... brilliant.

    I loved Knights of the sky too. I could spend all weekend on that racking up boche fighters in my Spad XIII. :D If you know what im talking about here im sure you will agree. :p

    I only recently gave the 1040 to my neighbour but they promptly trashed it when they figured it couldnt run Word. :rolleyes: I did tell them but they only heard the price tag.
     
  3. mattscott306 macrumors 68040

    mattscott306

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    #3
    That setup reminds me of the old commodore my parents use to have. Good times.
     
  4. gkarris macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #4
    Nice setup.

    Your STation is worth a lot!

    Thanks for posting a pic of such a rarity...
     
  5. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #5
    "Amiga" starts with "A", too.

    Somehow, the "A" computer companies got the whole GUI thing before the rest.

    Apple, Atari, and Amiga. The big three in GUIs in the '80s.
     
  6. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #6
    Nice Atari, but what's the big ugly thing the display is sitting on?
     
  7. MetalFace macrumors member

    MetalFace

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    #7
    wow i had one of them without the big stand monitor thingy thing things! lol

    i had so many good games ive still got the system but most of the games are lost/broken/corrupted :(

    i had some really cool ninja game cant rember the name and rick dangerous was awsome ahhhh man bringing back my early years! im gonna try rember the games i had some of them totaly rocked i had this a commodor 64 and hten got a snes! xD
     
  8. sonofjabba macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Location:
    Pa
    #8
    Adam Starts With A Too!!

    :)

    [​IMG]

    Adam by Coleco! Dig the Cassette Drive! I still use it for coleco games, only beef is you have to have the printer with the unit because the printer is the power supply... UGH!
     
  9. Foxglove9 macrumors 65816

    Foxglove9

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    #9
    Love the Atari setup and love the Blik Invaders too :)
     
  10. Jasonbot macrumors 68020

    Jasonbot

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Rainbow Nation RSA
    #10
    Just wondering... What OS did that atari use?
     
  11. Old Mac Geezer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    #11
    The Atari ST uses Digital Research GEM over CP/M 68k in early models, GEMDOS (DR-DOS) in later ones.
     
  12. Allotriophagy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    #12
    ATARI SUX! AMIGA IS THE BEST!

    We have better graphics and sound and multitasking and stuff! Our OS is the best too!

    I still want an Amiga 4000, for some reason. Have to make do with UAE.
     

Share This Page