Atheros Card?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by bloodycape, Jul 13, 2006.

  1. bloodycape macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #1
    Can anyone give me more information from on the Atheros card on the MBP? What are the difference between that and what the ibook and PB G4 have?
     
  2. bloodycape thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Location:
    California
  3. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #3
    Does the MBP use Atheros? I thought they used a Intel wireless card?

    The older AE cards are based on Broadcom chipsets, that's all I know about them.
     
  4. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    my MB uses an atheros card.


    it's nice to see apples head is not firmly lodged in intels anus.
     
  5. benthewraith macrumors 68040

    benthewraith

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #5
    Atheros AR 5006V Wireless Network Adapter. ;)

    By the way, I'm glad they don't use Intel cards, the Intel Pro/Wireless sucked. :mad:
     
  6. bloodycape thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #6
    Thank you. What is so bad with the intel wireless I have heard good things about them.
     
  7. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #7
    They are actually some of the best NICs out there.
     
  8. benthewraith macrumors 68040

    benthewraith

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #8
    I have had many issues with the Intel Pro/Wireless. My main issue with the card was the issues with Power scrolling. Despite the fact that I disable Powerscrolling, it still lowers the card's power anyways. Also, having three, four applications on your computer for Wireless is also annoying (winzeroconfig.exe, Dell Quicket wifi networking, and intel pro/wireless software).

    I've also had to replace the card twice.
     
  9. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #9
    Yes, it is sort of amazing that they would switch from Broadcom to Atheros -- and avoid the Intel trap.

    But, it may have been for more than the current line of cards, and what is going to be offered next.

    Atheros may have been that much further ahead than Broadcom on the next chipset.
     
  10. benthewraith macrumors 68040

    benthewraith

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #10
    On another note, it's rumored that the next Centrino platform (With Intel Core 2), will have an 802.11abgn card.

    Does Apple have any plans on creating an Airport Extreme abgn card?
     
  11. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #11
    Likely, Broadcom looked like they were real close to production.

    But the switch to Atheros, and their more interesting solution may have been one of the reasons for the switch.

    Likely Airport Extreme 2 is around the bend, don't know when Lenovo is planning on shipping their Atheros XSPAN 802.11n machines -- but with their more public news strategies they may be a sign of how close Apple is.
     

Share This Page