Ati offers HDTV Reception and Recording... on the PC

Discussion in 'Current Events' started by srobert, Feb 17, 2004.

  1. srobert macrumors 68020

    srobert

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    #1
    —>_Link to the article <—

    Any chance this tech is ever gonna be ported to the mac? this card sounds like a nice buy if you can't afford to buy expensives HDTV and PVR.

    We definitly need more video card options.
     
  2. x86isslow macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    i doubt it. ati's pc support is based on the tv-windows convergence (XP Media Edition).

    Unless jobs does a 180 and says convergence on macs too, ati probably wont release a mac version..

    then again, if the next iteration of apple displays are HD, we may have a whole new ball game
     
  3. srobert thread starter macrumors 68020

    srobert

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    #3
    Excuse my ignorance but aren't current displays more than HD?
     
  4. MoparShaha macrumors 68000

    MoparShaha

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #4
    Yes, they are.
     
  5. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
    #5
    Just put a tv in jack on every mac, ignore Steve he aint allways right. many times i would like both.
     
  6. idkew macrumors 68020

    idkew

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2001
    Location:
    where the concrete to dirt ratio is better
    #6
    i agree. it would have its place. maybe setup a airport extreme dvr edition, which will stream on the fly encoded mp4s.
     
  7. Dippo macrumors 65816

    Dippo

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #7
    While ATI's AIW cards are really nice, the software to them still needs a lot of work.

    I have an AIW Radeon 7500 and it works well and I used to use it to record a lot of stuff off tv, but the interface is still bad and the tv listings is horrible.

    If they just made tv listings like tivo has it, then I might go back to using it.

    Besides the fact that it eats system resources.
     

Share This Page